Fjære Parish, Aust-Agder, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Fjære, Aust-Agder, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Fjære Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/
Diocese
Agder og Telemark bispedømme (1925-today), Stavanger bispedømme (1684-1925), Oslo bispedømme (1070-1684)
Prosti Vest-Nedenes prosti
Len 1599-1660 Agdesiden
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1682: Agdesiden, 1682-1685: Christiansand, 1685-1919: Nedene
Fylke 1919-Present Aust-Agder
Region Sørlandet
Prestegjeld Fjære
Kommune Grimstad
Skifteretten Nedenes
Tinglag Landvik og Fjære
Fogderi Nedenes
Sorenskriveri Sand
Skipreide Bringsvær skipreide


Church Records[edit | edit source]

  • Microfilm at the Family History Library for Fjære prestegjeld (clerical district). Contains priest and sexton records for Fjære parish. Includes Grimstad parish until 1885. Was separated from Øyestad clerical district in 1845. See Øyestad clerical district for earlier records. On the 4th Oct 1933 there was a fire in the church. Most of the church books for 1839-1930 were destroyed. Parish registers from 1867-1922. See also Øyestad.

  • Digitized parish registers available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1664-1666 Clerical Census: This census was taken by the local parish priests. It covers Fjære clerical district include the parishes of Fjære, Øyestad, and Froland and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete.

  • 1664-1666 Civil Census: This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It covers Fjære clerical district includes the parishes of Fjære, Øyestad. and Froland and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. It lists the names of the farms, farmowners (including widows), sons of farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and sons of cottagers and the age of each person. The clerical authorities took a census during this same time period. Both censuses should be used as they supplement each other. The clerical census is more complete.
  • 1701 Manntal: This 1701 tax census for Fjære clerical district includes the parishes of Fjære, Øyestad, and Froland and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. The census of 1701 was taken for military purposes. It lists only the males living in rural districts who were over the age of one year. It includes the farm name, name and age of the owner, names and ages of sons and servants. Also includes the residence of all unmarried males living away from home when the census was taken.

  • 1801: The 1801 census for Fjære clerical district includes the parishes of Fjære, Øyestad, Froland, and Hisøyø and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation. Also available online in a searchable database at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).


  • 1865: The 1865 census for Fjære clerical district is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book. Also available in a searchable database at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).


  • 1875: The 1875 census for Fjære clerical district include the parishes of Fjære and Grimstad and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. It contains the name of the farm, the persons name, residence, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Also available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).



  • 1900: The 1900 census for Fjære clerical district is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. This census contains the persons name, sex, resident or temporary resident, temporarily absent and where person is, position in the family, marital status, occupation, year of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Aanby, Anne Tone: Fjøre bygdebok

FHL 948.28/F2 H2 To view a genealogies from Fjære click here

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Names Index in about 1900 were as follows:

64 Aadnerød, 18 Augland vestre,

5 Berge, 8 Berget, 14 Bie ytre, 13 Biehaugen, 60 Birketveid, 42 Bjørnetraa, 11 Braastad, 40 Bringsvær, 40 Bringsværmoen, 56 Bukjær, 60 Bødkerhaven,

21 Dalene nordre, 9 Dømmesmoen,

26 Egelien, 26 Eskedal nordre, 62 Esketveid, 57 Espenes, 54 Evenvold,

50 Fevig, 51 Fevigmoen, 19 Fjære, 20 Fjæremoen, 7 Frivold vestre,

16 Gjømle, 37 Grevstad ytre, 3 Gros, 1 Grøm,

43 Haabbestad, 48 Hausland nedre, 66 Have, 29 Haven, 19 Havesletten, 8 Heien, 30 Hesnes nedre, 32 Hesnesøen vestre, 44 Hesthaven, 36 Honnebrog,

40 Kalverumpen, 44 Kjerneheien, 24 Kjæmpestykket, 24 Kjærra, 13 Kleivehaven, 24 Kleivevolden, 47 Klep, 47 Kleppekjær, 48 Kodebakken, 46 Konnestad, 68 Krogelien, 69 Krogen, 7 Krossen, 34 Kvaløen, 13 Kviengen, 63 Kvikshaug,

35 Langefors, 44 Lien, 67 Lunde, 16 Løddesklevstykket,

6 Maløen, 69 Moen, 39 Moi, 7 Mosby, 59 Myren, 55 Møssevold,

7 Nakkehaugen, 15 Naksbø, 1 Naudenes, 22 Nygaard, 24 Næbehaugen,

39 Olafslien,

45 Ribe, 10 Rorsholt, 56 Ruaager,

39 Salverød, 30 Sandum, 4 Skaregrøm, 43 Skarkekjær, 61 Skotta, 7 Solberg, 23 Spedalen, 60 Storestad, og Hestehaven, 38 Strandjordet, 37 Strandvolden, 24 Stølelien, 22 Sæveli nordre, 58 Søm,

41 Taule, 53 Torshaugen, 52 Traalum nedre, 53 Troldalen ,45 Tysaasen, 2 Tønnevold, 65 Tøra, 70 Tørvolt,

28 Ulenes,

1 Vessøen, 59 Vessøen, 53 Vesterengen, 48 Vestrejordet, 24 Vig, 49 Vollekjær,

12 Øde-Augland

The farm names and numbers as listed in the back of Fjære Bygdebok Håbbestad Krets and paging through the book are as follows:

Bausvoll, 5 Berge, 13 Bie øvre, 14 Bie Ytre, 60, Birketveit, Bjørnemyra, 42 Bjørnetrø, 40 Bringsvær, 11 Bråstad, Buhavmoen, 56 Bukjerr,

Charlottenlund,

Dalheim, 9 Dømmesmoen,

Einstabbholla, Ekelund, Ekely, 26 Eskedal nordre, 25, Eskedal Søndre, 27 Eskedal vestre, 62 Esketveit, 57 Espenes, 54 Evenvoll, 50

Fevik, Fevikkilen, 51 Fevikmoen, Fjellbakken, Fjellsjå, 19 Fjære, 20 Fjæremoen, Fredheim, 7 Frivoll vestre, 8 Frivoll østre, Furulund,

Gjeruldshave, 16 Gjømle, 37 Grefstad Ytre, 38 Grefstad øvre, 3 Groos, 64 Grosvoll, 1 Grøm,

29 Hagen, Hattenburg, Hauene, 48 Hausland nedre, 49 Hausland øvre, 66 Have, 30 Hesnes nedre, 31 Hesnes øvre, 32 Hesnesøya vestre, 33 Hesnesøya østre, Hesthagen, Hesthaven, Hestholmen, Holla, 36 Honnebrog, 43 Håbbestad, Håbbestadmoen,

Judehaven,

Kalvehagen, Kjempesteinskjerret, Kjerrestykket, Kjerråsen, Kjærra, Kleiva, Klemmetsplass, 47 Klepp, Kleppekjerr, Kleppeliene, Knardal, 46 Konnestad, 69 Krogen, 68 Kroglia, 34 Kvaløya, 63 Kvikshaug, Kylland,

35 Langefoss, Lauåsstykket, 44 Lia, Lille Jansholla, Lona, 67 Lunde, Løkka,

6 Maløya, 39 Moy, Myra, Møllesletta, 55 Møssevoll,

15 Naksbie, Nedre Solvang, Nilsesvoll, Nyhaven, Nærbø,

Rendehaven, 45 Ribe, 10 Rorsholt,, Rosenlunde, 56 Ruager, Rygenefossen, Rønningen,

Savstaua, Sjøstrand, 4 Skaregrøm, Skarkekjerr, 61 Skotta, Smietofta, Solbakken, 23 Spedalen, Steinsmoen, Stemkjerrstykket, Stien, Svedenborg, Svens, 22 Sæveli nordre, 21 Sæveli søndre, 58 Søm, Søndre Håbbestad,

41 Taule, Temsevoll, Tollehammen, Tomtene, 53 Trålum nedre, Trålum øvre, 2 Tønnevoll, 65 Tøra, Tøraplassen, 70 Tørvolt,

18 Ugland vestre, 17 Ugland østre, 28 Ulenes,

59 Vessøya, Vestre Kleiva, Vestre Skakkefjell, Vestre Tysåsen, 24 Vik,

12 Øde-Ugland,

Åsheim

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Skarpeid, Karl Arnt, 1958-: Anetavler for Karl Arnt Skarpeid

FHL 929.2481 Sk17

Available through FamilySearch Catalog - includes all eight volumes. See notes on the catalog page.

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Nedenes judicial district
*1640-1824 Family History Library
*1698-1826 Digitalarkivet

Nedenes judicial district to 1824
*1852-1892 Family History Library
*1852-1904 Digitalarkivet

Nedenes deanery
*1693-1811 Family History Library
*1693-1811 Digitalarkivet

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names