Florida Census

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Florida Wiki Topics
Florida flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Florida Background
Cultural Groups
Local Research Resources
Adopt-a-wiki page
Flgenlogo100.png This page adopted by:
The FLGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Online Federal Censuses[edit | edit source]

Population Schedules[edit | edit source]

Starting in 1790, federal population schedules were taken every 10 years in the United States. Click here for more information about federal census records.

Florida became a territory in the first half of the 19th Century and won't appear in Federal Censuses before 1830.

United States Federal Censuses with Online Links[edit | edit source]
1790 1800 1810 1820
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
1830 1840 1850 1860
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
1870 1880 1890 1900
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
1910 1920 1930 1940
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com

Non-Population Schedules for Florida[edit | edit source]

Federal non-population schedules included such things mortality schedules, agriculture schedules, slave schedules, and manufacturing schedules.

Year Type of Census Links
1850 Slave FamilySearch — index and images
Ancestry.com ($) — index and images
1860 Slave FamilySearch — index and images
Ancestry.com ($) — index and images
1885 Mortality Ancestry.com ($) — index and images

Existing and Lost Censuses[edit | edit source]

Online State and Territorial Censuses[edit | edit source]

State censuses are census records that were taken at the state-level rather than at the federal. Often, but not always, a state took their census in ten year increments 5 years from when the Federal Census was taken, such as 1885. State censuses can even serve as substitutes for missing federal censuses. For more information on state censuses, visit United States Census Bureau.

Territorial censuses were taken by the federal government to count the population in federal territories. The government needed to count the population in the territory to see if it could qualify for statehood. For more information on territorial censuses, visit the US Territorial Census page.

Year Type of Census Links
1867 State, head of household Ancestry.com($) — index and images
1875 State, head of household Ancestry.com($) — index and images
1885 State, houshold members FamilySearch — index and images
Ancestry.com($) — index and images
1935, houshold members State FamilySearch — index and images
Ancestry.com($) — index and images
findmypast($) — index and images
1945, houshold members State FamilySearch — index and images
findmypast($) — index and images

Other Census Images[edit | edit source]

Why Use the Census?[edit | edit source]

State census records can be one of the easiest ways to locate where an ancestor's family lived and when they lived there. Information varies based on year and location, but information that may be included in a census can include:

  • Name of each person in the family at the time the census was taken
  • Street or Avenue, or number Rural Free Delivery
  • Sex
  • Age
  • Color
  • Nativity
  • Place of birth of this person
  • Place of birth of Father of this person
  • Place of birth of Mother of this person
  • Period of Residence
  • How long a resident of this State (years and months)
  • How long a resident of this enumeration district (years and months)
  • Regular occupation
  • Military service