Florida, United States Genealogy
Guide to Florida ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Florida Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
- This article is about the U.S. state. For other uses, see Florida (disambiguation).
Florida Information[edit | edit source]
Florida became the twenty-seventh state admitted to the United States in March 3, 1845. Florida was created form Florida Territory and is located in the southeast region of the United States. Tallahassee is the capital and there are 67 counties in Florida. 
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Getting Started with Florida Research
Links to articles on getting started with Florida research.
Florida Research Tools
Links to articles and websites that assist in Florida research.
Florida Clickable Map[edit | edit source]
Many genealogy records are kept on the county level in the United States. Click on a county below to go to the county Wiki article listing more information.
Counties[edit | edit source]
Florida Migration Routes[edit | edit source]
FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
- Learning Center - Online genealogy courses
- Historical Records - databases and record images on FamilySearch
- Family History Center locator map
Additional Resources[edit | edit source]
- Cyndi's List - Florida genealogy sites on the internet
- Florida Genealogy Trails - collection of transcribed data for the state of Florida
- Access Genealogy – Genealogy guide for Florida
- Ancestorhunt.com - resources for Florida genealogy research
- Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness - Guide to Ancestry and Family Tree Records for Florida
- Florida Research Outline – Original Family History Library research outline; contains many out of date links
- Every Name Index
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Florida" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Florida (accessed 15 March 2016).
- Wikipedia contributors, "List of US States by Date of Admission," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_U.S._states_by_date_of_admission_to_the_Union, accessed 1 Nov 2016.