Flosta Parish, Aust-Agder, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Flosta, Aust-Agder, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Flosta Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/
Diocese
Agder og Telemark bispedømme (1925-today), Stavanger bispedømme (1684-1925), Oslo bispedømme (1070-1684)
Prosti Arendal Prosti
Len 1599-1660 Agdesiden
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1682: Agdesiden, 1682-1685: Christiansand, 1685-1919: Nedene
Fylke 1919-Present Aust-Agder
Region Sørlandet
Prestegjeld Dybvaag
Kommune Tvedestrand
Skifteretten Nedenes
Tinglag Nedenes
Fogderi Nedenes
Sorenskriveri Holt
Skipreide Stengreid


Church Records[edit | edit source]



Census Records[edit | edit source]


  • 1701 see [[Holt, Norway|Holt]


  • 1801: The 1801 census for Flosta parish in Dypbåg clerical district is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. It includes the farm names, head of household, his wife, children, other family members staying in household, servants, occupation, sex, age and some miscellaneous information.


  • 1815: 'For most parishes, the censuses between 1801 and 1865 are purely statistical. However, in this case, a proper census is available and it can be accessed at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).


  • 1865: The 1865 census for Flosta parish in Dybvåg clerical district is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. It the name of the farm, persons name, status in the family, residence, occupation, sex, marital state, place of birth, age, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book.  Also available in a searchable date online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).


  • 1875: The 1875 census for Flosta parish in Dybvåg clerical district is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. It contains the name of the farm, person's name, year of birth, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Also available in a searchable database online at Digtialarkivet (Digital Archives).



  • 1900: The 1900 census for Flosta parish in Dybvåg clerical district is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. It contains the name of the farm, persones name, sex, resident or temporary resident, temporarily absent and where person is, position in the family, marital status, occupation, when born, where born, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).


Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name index in about 1900 were as follows:

2 Arnevik, 9 Aspedalen,

7 Boraas, 4 Braarvik, 10 Brønnekjærbakken, 9 Bø ytre,

1 Dal,

8 Eikeland,

3 Flosta,

5 Gjerdalen,

10 Havneholmen, 9 Hesviken ,11 Hovet, 11 Huverstø,

11 Klæfet og Pila, 6 Kvernhusdalen,

3 Nordstrand,

8 Sillevik, 10 Skjeggestøholmen, 10 Staubø, 6 Stufjelddalen,

11 Tverdal,

6 Vatnebu,

4 Ødegaardsmyren

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Nedenes judicial district
*1640-1824 Family History Library
*1698-1826 Digitalarkivet

Holt (Austre Nedenes) judicial district
*1825-1857 Family History Library
*1823-1911 Digitalarkivet

Nedenes deanery
*1693-1811 Family History Library
*1693-1811 Digitalarkivet

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names