Flumenthal parish, Solothurn, Switzerland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngSolothurn Gotoarrow.png Flumenthal parish

Guide to Flumenthal parish, Solothurn, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Geography[edit | edit source]

History[edit | edit source]

A Catholic parish church was located in Flumenthal. The parish covers of about 2 square miles and had a total population of about 350 people in 1798 and over 600 people in 1850.

Place Names[edit | edit source]

Municipalities within Flumenthal[edit | edit source]

Gemeinden or Municipalities
Flumenthal
Günsberg - pre 1695
Hubersdorf
Kammersrohr

Surrounding Parishes[edit | edit source]


Flumenthal Gemeinde[edit | edit source]

It consists of over one square mile and had a population of about 350 in 1850.

Surnames[edit | edit source]

The community or gemeinde of Flumenthal was the heimat or ancestral home for about 20 surnames. The Register of Swiss Surnames provides the surnames associated with every gemeinde or community in Switzerland. The register provides correct spellings for surnames and place names.

Locations[edit | edit source]

A google map of Flumenthal shows it in relation to the surrounding area.

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

There are numerous compiled genealogies that have been created since 1900; however, they need to verified by researching the parish registers since it has been proven that a percentage of them are inaccurate.

The following genealogies have been researched for Flumenthal families:

Collections[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Guide to Flumenthal online Kirchenbuch

film item Time period Description Online Record
1600147 6 1588-1665 baptism, marriages, deaths here
1600147 7 1666-1910 confirmation here
1600147 8 1796-1837 deaths here
1600147 9 1798-1875 marriages here
1600147 10 1798-1844 baptism here
1600147 11 pre 1797 fragments - baptism. marriages, deaths here

Civil Registration

film item Time period Description Online Record
1687933 3 1836-1849 Births, marriages, deaths here
1687933 4 1850-1875 Births, marriages, deaths here

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Flumenthal is located in Lebern District. Probate records are on online from 1690 to 1839. There is a comprehensive index of the 13 microfilms in this collection that are now online. The index and records in this collection cover the east part of Lebern District. This includes the communites of - Bellach, Balm bei Günsberg, Flumenthal, Günsberg, Hubersdorf, Feldbrunnen St Niklaus, Kammersrohr, Langendorf, Niederwil, Oberdorf, Riedholz, and Rüttenen. There are also Probates available from 1840 to 1850; however you must check the indexes in each volume which are cataloged by year.

Related Sources[edit | edit source]

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland