Forsand (Fossan) Parish, Rogaland, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Forsand, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Forsand (Fossan) Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/
Diocese
add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Stavanger
Amt 1689-1919 1662-1682: Stavanger stiftamt, 1682-1919: Stavanger amt
Fylke 1919-Present Rogaland
Region add here
Prestegjeld Høgdsfjord
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Høle
Fogderi Ryfylke
Sorenskriveri Ryfylke
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Forsand kyrkje.jpg
  • Forsand (Fossan) is now in Høgsfjord clerical district. Høle and Forsand (Fossan) belonged to Strand clerical district until 1864. These records are available on microfilm at the Family History Library.

  • Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For 1801 and earlier see Strand

For 1865 and 1875 see Høgsfjord

  • 1891: The 1891 census for Forsand is available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

  • 1900: The 1900 census for Forsand is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. It contains the persons name, sex, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, marital status, occupation, year of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

  • 1910: The 1910 census for Forsand is available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For 1666-1795 the probates are in the combined Ryfylke and Karmsund judicial district.
For 1786-1876 they are found in Ryfylke judicial district.
The clerical probates for 1729-1807 are found in Ryfylke deanery deanery. `

Availability[edit | edit source]

Ryfylke og Karmsund judicial district
*1666-1795 Family History Library
*1666-1795 Digitalarkivet
*1666-1788 Probate card indexes sorted by farm name Digitalarkivet

Ryfylke judicial district
*1786-1876 Family History Library
*1786-1876 Digitalarkivet

Ryfylke deanery
*1786-1807 Clerical probate records Family History Library
*1786-1807 Digitalarkivet.

Høle and Forsand police station
*1875-1965 death protocol Digitalarkivet

Strand and Forsand police station
*1865-1976 death protocol Digitalarkivet

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Engen, Sigleif, "Forsandboka", Forsand: Utgeve av Forsand kommune, 1981-1989. 4 vols. 948.31/F2 D2e FHL INTL Book

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

24 Auglend

1 Berge, 38 Bergsholmen (og Sundknuden), 2 Bergsvig, 67 Birkedal, 46 Birkeland, 59 Braadland, 11 Brattelien, 5 Brekke, 50 Brunnebakken,

78 Dirdal

30 Eidene lille (og Pannevigen), 29 Eidene store, 51 Eigeland, 60 Eigeskog, 7 Erevig, 49 Espedal nedre

62 Fed, 25 Fløirlien, 21 Folgesdalen, 41 Fossan, 28 Fossmork, 55 Frafjord

69 Gilje, 71 Giljebrekken, 40 Gjøise, 67 Gloppedal,

20 Haaheller, 58 Haaland, 14 Hagen, 14 Hatleskog, 33 Haugelien, 10 Havn, 10 Heien, 44 Helle, 16 Helmikstølen, 77 Holmen, 10 Hølleslien,

18 Kaasen, 26 Kallelien, 19 Kallestein, 49 Kjærholen, 75 Kjærvolden, 53 Kleppe, 56 Kommedal, 73 Kvideland

6 Leranger, 9 Levig, 23 Lyse, 47 Løland,

61 Maanen, 68 Maudal øvre, 4 Meling, 65 Mjaaland, 57 Molau, 66 Motland, 27 Mulen, 54 Mæle

22 Nedrebø, 3 Nordland, 74 Nødeland,

34 Oaland, 8 Oanes,

64 Retland, 35 Rettedal, 42 Rossevig nedre,

21 Sagbakken, 78 Samslaatten, 17 Sangedal, 12 Sangesand, 13 Sangesandsbakken, 6 Skeivig, 76 Steinskog, 15 Sundmork

24 Tangen

37 Underberge

32 Vasbotn, 70 Vatne, 31 Vige

63 Østebø

FORSANDBOKA BAND I:

Brekke, BrekkeDalen,

Dalen, Djube dalen, Dyrablod, Dørvik,

Eiane, Erevid, Eiane, Erevik,

Fløri, FløriHolmen, Frauå, Fyljesdalen,

Gannvik, Giskasdet, Gullurdalen,

Habn, Hagen, Haugen, Heiå, Helmikstølen, Hengjane, Hetledalen, Hetleskog, HetleskogMoen, Holmen, Holte, Høllesli, HøllesliHeiå, Håheller, HåhellerLiå, HåhellerNeset,

Kallali, Kallastein, Knudahagen, Kregjen, Krånå, Kåshagen, Kåsen,

Lerang, Levik, LevikØygarden, Levinshaugen, Liå, Lunden, Løybakken, Lynghammar, Lyngsnes, Lyse,

Meling, Melingsvigjå, Moen, Mulekåsen, Mulen, Myrane, Myrhaug, Myrå,

Nerabø, Neset, Neverdalen, Nordland,

Oanes,

Pannevik, Pålaplasset,

SaBakken, Senabakken, Sjøbrådet, Sjuraplasset, Skeivik, Skjerliå, Skåleheiå, SongeDalen, Songesand, SongesandsBakken, SongesandsHagen, Steidn, Steinberg,Strandteigen, Stykkjet, Sønnmork, Sørevoll,

Tangen, Tornes, Torsteinhuset, Tuptene,

Urnes, Urå,

Vassbotn, Vika,

Øvrevoll, Øygarden,

Ådneshaugen, Ånen Johansen, Årgådå,

Aslakskå, Auklend,

Bakken, Berge, Bergvik, Bratteli

FORSANDBOKA BAND I PART II:

Band I:  BratteliMyrå, Bratteli, Brekke, BrekkeDalen,

Dalen, Djube dalen, Dyrablod, Dørvik,

Eiane, Erevik,

Flørli, FlørliHolmen, Frauå, Fyljesdalen,

Gannvik, Giskasedet, Gullerdalen,

Habn, Hagen, Haugen, Heiå, Helmikstølen, Hengjane, Hetledalen, Hetleskog, HetleskogMoen, Holmen, Høllesli, HøllesliHeiå, Håheller, HåhellerLiå, HåhellerNeset,

Kallali, Kallastein, Knudahagen, Kregjen, Krånå, Kåsahagen, Kåsen,

Lerang, Levik, LevikØygarden, Levinshaugen, Liå, Lunden, Løybakken, Lynghammar, Lyngnes,Lyse,

Meling, Melingsvigjå, Moen, Mulekåsen, Mulen, Myrane, Myrhaug, Myrå,

Nerabø, Neset, Neverdalen, Nordland,

Oanes,

Pannevik, Pålapasset,

SaBakken, Senabakken, Sjøbrådet, Sjuraplasset, Skeivik, Skjerliå, Skålehiå, SongeDalen, Songesand, SongesandsBakken, SongesandsHagen, Steidn, Steinberg,Strandteigen, Stykkjet, Sønnmork, Sørevoll,

Tangen, Torsnes, Torsteinshuset, Tuptene,

Urnes, Urå,

Vassbotn, Vika, VikaDalen, VikaNeset, VikaSjøen, VikaVigjå,

Øvrevoll, Øygarden,

Ådneshaugen, Ånen Johansen, Årgådå,


FORSANDBOKA BAND 2

Austvoll,

Bakkane, Bakketun, Bergebu, Bergsholmen, Bergevik, Bergeryggen, Bergevikstrand, Berghøgda, Bjørklund, Bosshei, Brannaberget,

Dalheim, Dalton,

Enkjeparten,

Farmanes, Fjellheim, Fjordsyn, Flatvoll, Forsand, Forsandbakken, ForsandHagen, ForsandMoen, Fossan, Fredheim, Fredly,

GiskaliNeset, Gryde, Gøysa, GøysaRyggen, Gøysavik, Grøndal, Grønhøgda, Gryde,

Habursvigjå, Hagen, Haukali, Haukalihagen, Heimdal, Hestamoen,

Ivarplasset,

Jonasplasset,

Kirkebø, Krogstø, Kvednavik,

Landal, Langheim, Lastabotn, Lunden, Lyngstad, Lyngvoll,

Myrbakken,

Nordkjeldå, Nausterheim, Nerheim, Nerhus, Nøstvold,

Oaland, Odda, Osen, Orrhaug,

Rasmusparten, Rettedal, Ryggåsen, Ryggjabø, Ryggjeheim, Ryggjtun,

Sandvoll, Sjøtun, Skogheim, Skogly, Slettebø, Solbakken, Solglytt, Solheim, Solkroa, Solstrand, Soltun, Solvang, Sonaparten, Sørheim, Storstein, Strandheim, Stykkjet, Sør-Talgje,

Toreparten, Toskaberget, Tryggheim, Turkeplassane,

UnderBerge, Utsikten,

Vestheim, Vidbergtun,

Åsbø, Åsheim, Åslund,

Øvrhus, Øygarden og Bergeliå, Øyren,

FORSANDBOKA BAND III

Austbø,

Bekkestova, Bjødna-plasset, Bjørkelund, Bjørktun Bruland, Brunnabakka, Byrkjeland,

Dalbuvigjå, Dalheim, Dårtehuset, Døså, Drivflåt,

Eikeland, Eikly, Espedal,

Fjellheim, Fogelstovå, Fredheim,

Gjerdet, Gollhaug,

Hagen, Haugen, Heim, Helle, Hellehammeren, Hellestuen, Hestevodl'n, Hiljan Tun, Hustuftå,

Kalvgarden, Kjærholen, Kjelmen, Kleppa, Kvednabakkjen, Kveldsro,

Ljødeplasset, Løland, Lunden,

Mele, MelsMoen, MelsOsen, Middeltonhuset, Midttun, Mikkelsparten, Moen, Myrå,

Nygård,

Olaparten, Osaheiå,

Rossavik, Røyshusvod'ln, Ryggjatun,

Sjøglytt, Sjøtun, Skallen, Skiftunstykkjet, Skogabakka, Solbakken, Solgløtt, Steinteigen, Storevoll,

Tjørevoll, Toreholmen, Tore-parten,

Urheim,

Vågaparten,

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names

Engen, Sigleif: Forsandboka. Gards-og ættesoge. Band , II, III