Fort Wayne Indian Agency (Indiana)
United States American Indians Indiana Indians of Indiana Fort Wayne Indian Agency (Indiana) Guide to Fort Wayne Indian Agency (Indiana) ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
Indian Tribes Associated With This Agency[edit | edit source]
History[edit | edit source]
The Fort Wayne Agency was established in 1802. It was consolidated with the Piqua Agency in 1818 but became an independent agency again in 1819. The tribes assigned to this agency in 1819 were the Miami, Eel River, Wea, and Potawatomi. In 1821, the Vincennes Agency was discontinued as most of the Indians under their jurisdiction had moved west. Those remaining in Indiana were assigned to the Fort Wayne Agency.
In 1828, the agency was moved from Fort Wayne to the south side of the Wabash River, between the mouths of Pipe Creek and Eel River. The agent often reported from Logansport, at the mouth of Eel River. The agency became known as the Indiana Agency.
Agents and Appointment Dates[edit | edit source]
William Wells January 1, 1802, John Johnston January 27, 1809, Benjamin Franklin Stickney March 7, 1812, John Johnston put in charge of Fort Wayne April 22, 1818, Benjamin Franklin Stickney (subagent serving under Johnston) July 14, 1818, William turner March 6, 1819, John Hays May 24, 1820 and John Tipton March 28, 1823. 
Records[edit | edit source]
Agencies and subagencies were created as administrative offices of the Bureau of Indian Affairs and its predecessors. Their purpose was (and is) to manage Indian affairs with the tribes, to enforce policies, and to assist in maintaining the peace. The names and location of these agencies may have changed, but their purpose remained basically the same. Many of the records of genealogical value (for the tribe and tribal members) were created by and maintained by the agencies.
Letters received by the Office of Indian Affairs from the Fort Leavenworth Agency, 1824-1830, have been microfilmed by the National Archives as part of their Microcopy Number M234, Roll 304. Copies are available at the National Archives and at the Family History Library and its family history centers on their microfilm roll number 1661034. After 1828, much of the correspondence from this agency was filed under the Indiana Agency or the Miami Agency.
References[edit | edit source]
- Hill, Edward E. The Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880: Historical Sketches. New York, New York: Clearwater Publishing Company, Inc., 1974, pp. 67-68.
- The Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880: Historical Sketches. By Edward E. Hill. Clearwater Publishing Co., New York, NY ©1974. FHL Book 970.1 H551o
- American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998, Microcopy M234, p. 8.
- American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998.
- Hill, Edward E. (comp.). Guide to Records in the National Archives of the United States Relating to American Indians. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, 1981.
- Hill, Edward E. The Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880: Historical Sketches. New York, New York: Clearwater Publishing Company, Inc., 1974.
- Historical Sketches for Jurisdictional and Subject Headings Used for the Letters Received by the Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880. National Archives Microcopy T1105.
- Preliminary Inventory No. 163: Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Services. Available online