Fröjel Parish, Gotland, Sweden Genealogy
Guide to Fröjel Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
- 1 History
- 2 Place Names
- 3 Collections
- 3.1 Census Records
- 3.2 Church Records
- 3.3 Military Records
- 3.4 Related Sources
- 3.5 Help Reading Swedish Records
- 3.6 Help Reading Old Handwriting
- 3.7 Help With Research Objectives and Strategies
- 3.8 References
History[edit | edit source]
Fröjel lies on the island of Gotland's west coast covering 37.4 square kilometers with a population in the 1880s of 634. The parish is actually an annex to Klinte parish. Because of the coastal location, many of the people were seamen.
Somewhat hilly land is primarily covered with pine trees with occasional limestone outcroppings. There was a brickyard at Mulde.
|Fröjel Parish, Gotland, Sweden Genealogy|
|Militär indelning||add here|
Place Names[edit | edit source]
Annexen, Alstäde, Ansarfve(Ansarve),
Bockes, Bofride, Bossarfwe (Bosarve), Bottarfve (Bottarve),
Gannarfve (Gannarve), Gustafs (Göstavs),
Lilla Hejdes (Lilla Hajdes), Lilla Solbjerge (Lilla Solbjärge),
Prestgården (Annexen), Pusarfve (Puser)
Robsarfve (Robsarve), Rofwede, Rofvede (Rovide),
Sigdarfwe, Sigdarfve (Sigdarve), Stenstu (Stenstugu), St.Hejdes (Stora Hajdes), St.Solbjerge (Stora Solbjärge), Selle (Sälle)
- Surrounding Parishes
Eksta Gerum Hejde Klinte Levide Lojsta
Collections[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
- Sweden Household Examination Records (Husförhörslängder)--explanation of this church record which is functionally the census of Sweden.
- Sweden Household Examination Books, 1840-1947, ($), index and images. Also on Ancestry.com, ($), Arkiv Digital ($), and SVAR at Riksarkivet.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Online Database Church Records[edit | edit source]
The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)
- Sweden, Gotland Church Records, 1582-1940; index 1655-1860 at FamilySearch.
- MyHeritage.com ($),
- Ancestry.com ($),
- Arkiv Digital ($), and
- SVAR at Riksarkivet.
Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden[edit | edit source]
- These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:
Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]
Click Sweden, Gotland Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Gotland" and then select your parish.
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Related Sources[edit | edit source]
Help Reading Swedish Records[edit | edit source]
- You do not have to be fluent in Swedish to read these records! They have a limited vocabulary: mother, father, born, bride, groom, married, etc. The rest of the content will be names, dates, and places, which do not need translation.
- This Swedish Word List covers typical terms found in the records.
- Swedish Historical Dictionary Database, SHDD: This interactive dictionary allows you to enter a word in the search box and receive the translation.
- Feast Day Calendar (Moveable) and Feast Day Lists (Fixed and Moveable) will help you translate dates written in feast day form.
- Sweden surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Sweden Names, Personal.
- For help with reading the column headings found in more recent records, see Swedish Parish Register and Household Exam Roll Headings.
- Instructions, document examples, and translations are given for Reading Swedish Birth and Christening Records 1717, 1752, 1771, 1792, 1803, 1834, 1854.
Help Reading Old Handwriting[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch Online Lessons - Reading Scandinavian Handwriting:
Help With Research Objectives and Strategies[edit | edit source]
- First find the birth and baptism record of your ancestor. Once you know his date and place of birth and his parents' names, you can locate the family in the Household Examination Records.
- Search every Household Examination Record that your ancestor appears on (from birth to death). You will pick up valuable clues along the way, find children who died young, and establish correct family member relationships.
- All birth, marriage, or death dates found in Household Examination Records need to be verified in the actual birth, marriage, or death records.
- Pay attention to relationship titles, occupations, military status, and remarks. See word list for Vocabulary for Household Examination Records.
- Dates are written in the European order of day, month, and year.
See Sweden Research Strategies for locating various records in specific time periods.
References[edit | edit source]
Place names from husförhörsläng for Fröjel AI:3 (1837-1849)