Frösö Parish, Jämtland, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Frösö Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hornsberg Church
Frösö Church

History[edit | edit source]

(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)

Frösö Parish, Jämtland, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift -1647 Uppsala ärke, 1647- Härnösand
Pastorat -1906 Sunne, 1906- Frösö
Län 1645-1654 Härnösands län, 1655-1762 Gävleborg, 1762-1810 Västernorrland, 1810- Jämtland
Landskap Jämtland
Härad not applicable
Tingslag -1741 Jämtlands domsaga, 1741-1916 Sunne, 1916- Sunne, Oviken and Hallen
Domsaga 1680-1811 Jämtland, 1812-1878 Södra Jämtland, 1879- Jämtlands västra
Fögderi 1720-1809 Jämtlands fögderi, 1810-1883 Jämtlands södra fögderi, 1884-1970 Jämtlands västra fögderi, 1971- Östersunds fögderi
Kommun 1863-1970 Frösö köping, 1971- Östersunds kommun
Militär indelning Jemtlands Hästjägare-Corps, Jemtlands Fältjägare-Corps, Jämtlands fältjägarregemente, Norrlands dragonregemente


Place Names[edit | edit source]

Berge, Bällsta, Tillsta,

Genvalla, Glaset,

Hof, Härke,

Knytta, Kungsgården,

Långaker,

Mjelle, Michelsgård, Mållsta, Mällbyn,

Namn,

Rasten, Rise, Rotehjon ( poor people supported by a rote),

Stocke, Slandrom, Stensgården,

Tanne,

Walla, Wallsundet, Westbyn, Westerhus, Wågle,

Öhne, Östberg


Sweden 1951 Place Names Register and the Swedish Parish Pages list in this Wiki will give you searchable lists of places, particularly parishes and the farms within those parishes.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Online Database Church Records[edit | edit source]

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden[edit | edit source]

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]

Click Sweden, Jämtland Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.

Click on "Places within Sweden, Jämtland" and then select your parish.


Military Records[edit | edit source]

Related Sources[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Swedish Records[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Old Handwriting[edit | edit source]

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies[edit | edit source]

Sweden Research Strategies


References[edit | edit source]

Frösö parish, Husförhörslängd 1843-1851, AI;8, Ort register.

Jurisdictional information from: Riksarkivet, “Frösö”, at Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). November 2011.