To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Franklin County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

 

Guide to Franklin County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Ozark
Organized: December 19, 1837
Parent County(s): Crawford[1]
Neighboring Counties
Crawford  • Johnson  • Logan  • Madison  • Sebastian
See County Maps
Courthouse
ArkansasFranklinNorthDistrictCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ar-franklin.png
Adoption
Scenic View of Ozarks on White Rock Mountain, Franklin County, Arkansas

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named for Benjamin Franklin.[2] It is located in the northwest of the state.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Franklin County Courthouse
211 W Commercial Street
Ozark, AR 72949
Phone: 501.667.3607
Franklin County Website

County Clerk has marriage records from 1850, probate records from 1838 and land records from 1899.[4]

Franklin County, Arkansas[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1914* 1850 1914* 1852 1899 1838 1830
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

  • 1863 - A courthouse fire destroyed deed records.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1837--Franklin County was created 19 December 1837 from Crawford County. 
  • County seat: Ozark[6]

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Townships
  • Alix
  • Barham
  • Black Oak
  • Boston
  • Cobb
  • Cravens
  • Donald
  • Grover
  • Hogan
  • Hurricane
  • Ivy
  • Limestone
  • McIlroy
  • Middle
  • Mill Creek
  • Miller
  • Morgan
  • Mountain
  • Mulberry
  • Prairie
  • Shores
  • Six Mile
  • Walker
  • Wallace
  • Watalula
  • Weaver
  • White Oak
  • White Rock
  • Wittich
Ghost towns


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Franklin County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [8]

  • 1819-1828 - By treaty, the Cherokee controlled the county
  • 1828 - the Cherokee were removed to Indian Territory and the area was opened to settlement, people came from Kentucky, Tennessee, Louisiana, and surrounding states.
  • 1837 December 19 - was formed from Crawford County.
  • 1875 - The railroad came to Franklin County, and towns grew up along the line.
  • 1880s - The climate and terrain in northern Franklin County were suited to grape growing, and a group of Swiss and German farmers came to Altus and established wineries.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Franklin, Arkansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Arkansas Cemeteries for more information

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1840 2,665
1850 3,972 49.0%
1860 7,298 83.7%
1870 9,627 31.9%
1880 14,951 55.3%
1890 19,934 33.3%
1900 17,395 −12.7%
1910 20,638 18.6%
1920 19,364 −6.2%
1930 15,762 −18.6%
1940 15,683 −0.5%
1950 12,358 −21.2%
1960 10,213 −17.4%
1970 11,301 10.7%
1980 14,705 30.1%
1990 14,897 1.3%
2000 17,771 19.3%
2010 18,125 2.0%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

  • Family biographies from The History of Franklin County, Arkansas (1889) published by Goodspeed are available free on the My Genealogy Hound website.

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

  • Probate Records 1835-1958 Franklin County portion of the collection: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 : Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration and guardian record index no date; Administration bonds 1866-1918; Administration bonds and letters 1891-1935; Administration settlements 1866-1878; Chancery Court records 1891-1953; County Court records 1847-1860; General index 1852-1890; Guardian bonds and letters 1891-1940; Guardian settlements 1866-1891; Letters of administration 1865-1918; Letters of testamentary 1865-1936; Minutes 1870-1874; Probate packet index 1835-1958; Probate packets 1835-1958; Probate record index 1860-1898; Probate records 1838-1915; Wills 1892-1947.

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Franklin County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

  • History of Benton, Washington, Carroll, Madison, Crawford, Franklin, and Sebastian Counties, Arkansas. Chicago, IL, USA: Goodspeed Publishing, 1889. Online at: Ancestry.com ($) . Also online at Google Books (free) and Hathi Trust (free, searchable).

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Washington CountyMadison CountyJohnson CountyCrawford CountySebastian CountyLogan CountyAR FRANKLIN.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Regiments. Men in Franklin County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 7th Battalion, Arkansas Infantry (Desha) (Confederate)
- 34th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company I
- 35th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company E

Online Records

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Franklin County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth[edit | edit source]

Birth Records reveal
Yes or Maybe
 Y  M
Name of Child Green check.png  
Birth Date and Place Green check.png  
Parent's Names Green check.png  
Mother's Maiden Name   Green check.png
Parent's Ages Green check.png  
Father's Occupation Green check.png  
Current Residence Green check.png  
Name of Doctor or Midwife Green check.png  

In 1877, a few county and city clerks[10] started keeping birth and death records.

In 1914, the state law required all county clerks to record births and forward them to the state.

ArrowGreen.svg.png

See also: • Arkansas Online Genealogy Records, • How to Find Arkansas Birth Records and • Arkansas Vital Records—Birth.

  • 1947 - 1965 - Franklin County Birth Index 1947-1965. Batch C744007 at FamilySearch - free.

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

  • 1954 - Franklin County Death Index 1954. Batch B000456 at FamilySearch - free.

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • ARGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • RootsWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Franklin County, Arkansas Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ark/franklin/
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Franklin County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Franklin_County,_Arkansas
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Franklin County, Arkansas. Page 67 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 65.
  6. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Franklin County, Arkansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Franklin_County,_Arkansas, accessed 12 September 2018.
  8. Rebecca Haden, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=768&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent= : accessed January 13, 2016), “Franklin County.”
  9. Desmond Walls Allen, Third Arkansas Union Cavalry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1987), pp. 33-92. FHL book 976.7 M28dc
  10. such as Sebastian County (Fort Smith) and Pulaski County (Little Rock) (No entry in FamilySearch Catalog found for Pulaski County nor for Little Rock, Aug 2014)

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.