To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Franklin County, Florida Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Franklin County, Florida ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Franklin County, Florida
Map
Map of Florida highlighting Franklin County
Location in the state of Florida
Map of the U.S. highlighting Florida
Location of Florida in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 8, 1832
County Seat Apalachicola
Courthouse
Florida Franklin Courthouse.jpg
Adopt-a-wiki page
Flgenlogo100.png This page adopted by:
The FLGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
and its representative
Franklin County FLGenWeb
Adopt a page today


County Information[edit | edit source]

Franklin County, Florida Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[1]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1899 1887 1899 1848 1874 1832 1830
*Statewide registration of births and deaths began in 1899. General compliance by 1920.

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Franklin County Courthouse
33 Market Street
Apalchicola, FL 32320
Phone: 850.653.8861

County Judge has marriage and probate records.
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, court and land records. [2]

History[edit | edit source]

Parent County[edit | edit source]

1832--Franklin County was created 8 February 1832 from Jackson County.
County seat: Apalachicola [3]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named for Benjamin Franklin. The County Seat is Apalachicola and the county was created February 8, 1832. The County is located in the Northwest area of the state.[4]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Florida county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Florida County Boundary Maps" (1821-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

1887 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.
For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:

Places / Localities[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[5]

Cities
Unincorporated communities
  • Eleven Mile
  • Fort Gadsden
  • Franklin
  • Green Point
  • Hays Place
  • High Bluff
  • Lanark Village
  • Magnolia Bluffs
  • McIntyre
  • Morgan Place
  • Nine Mile
  • Pine Log
  • Saint Teresa
  • Sun N Sand Beaches
  • Tilton
  • Two Mile
  • Yent Place
Census-designated places


Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Gulf • Liberty • Wakulla

Resources[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Franklin, Florida online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Florida Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Franklin County cemeteries.

Census[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Franklin County, Florida Genealogy census records online, see: Florida Census.

Church[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Florida denominations, view the Florida Church Records wiki page.

Court[edit | edit source]

Land[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Florida Land and Property for additional information about early Florida land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Franklin County, Florida Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Florida Local Histories.

Maps[edit | edit source]

Gulf CountyLiberty CountyWakulla CountyFL FRANKLIN.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Military[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]
World War I[edit | edit source]
World War II[edit | edit source]
Korean War[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Franklin County, Florida Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Florida Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics, Florida State Archives, or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Birth Records[edit | edit source]
Death Records[edit | edit source]
Divorce Records[edit | edit source]
Marriage Records[edit | edit source]

Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Apalachicola Area Historical Society
PO Box 75
Apalachicola, FL 32320
Telephone Number: 850-653-1700
E-mail:aahs.raney@gmail.com
Website



Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Franklin County, Florida . Page 133-137 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 143-145.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Franklin County, Florida. Page 134 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Franklin County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Franklin_County,_Florida 04/24/2017.
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Franklin County, Florida," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Franklin_County,_Florida, accessed 26 January 2019.