Franklin County, Maine Genealogy
Guide to Franklin County, Maine ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Franklin County, Maine|
Location in the state of Maine
|Founded||March 20, 1838|
|Address||Franklin County Courthouse|
38 Main Street
Farmington, ME 04938
Franklin County Website
- 1 Description
- 2 Franklin County, Maine Record Dates
- 3 County Clerk
- 4 History
- 5 Places / Localities
- 6 Resources
- 6.1 Cemeteries
- 6.2 Church Records
- 6.3 Court Records
- 6.4 Emigration and Immigration
- 6.5 Gazetteers
- 6.6 Land and Property
- 6.7 History
- 6.8 Maps
- 6.9 Military Records
- 6.10 Naturalization
- 6.11 Newspapers
- 6.12 Probate Records
- 6.13 Taxation
- 6.14 Vital Records
- 7 Societies and Libraries
- 8 Websites
- 9 References
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for Benjamin Franklin. The County has Farmington as its seat and the County was created May 9, 1838. The County is located in the west area of the state.
Franklin County, Maine Record Dates[edit | edit source]
County Clerk[edit | edit source]
- Town clerks have birth, marriage, death and burial records.
- Clerk Superior Court has divorce records from 1852 and court records.
- Register of Deeds has land records.
- Probate Judge has probate records. 
History[edit | edit source]
Parent County[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this census area:
Extinct Towns and Plantations: Berlin | Bloomfield Plantation | Freeman | Greenvale Plantation | Jackson Plantation | Jerusalem Plantation | Lang Plantation | Letter E Plantation | Little River Plantation | Madrid | Number 6 Plantation | Perkins Plantation | Salem | Washington Plantation | Wyman Township
Resources[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Maine Cemeteries for more information.|
- 1620-2014 - Maine, Tombstone Inscriptions, Surname Index, 1620-2014 at FamilySearch — index
- 1676-1918 - Maine, Veterans Cemetery Records, 1676-1918 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1780-1999 - Maine, J. Gary Nichols Cemetery Collection, ca. 1780-1999 at FamilySearch — index and images
Avon Valley Road Cemetery
Take the Avon Valley Road, off Route 4, in Avon. Go to the old school house. Cemetery is about 1/2 mile beyond the schoolhouse on the left. Can be seen from the road.
Day Mountain Cemetery
Located on Day Mountain Road near Avon/Temple Line. In Terrible Condition No Roads in to it. Must Hike About 2 1/2 Miles
Knott Burial Plot
On the left North of the Townhouse 1.4 miles South of Phillips Townline
Mile Square Cemetery
Dates after 1986 taken from Franklin Journal
Mount Blue Cemetery
Going North on Route #4 Take Left at Town House. Go 1.8 Miles Up The Hill. Cemetery On Left in Good Condition
Located On Route #4 Just South Of The Town House
Cemetery located on State Route 4 about 1 mile West of the Strong Town line.
Leave Phillips On Route #149 South Toward Strong, Maine. Go 2.6 Miles, Cemetery Down Over the Banking On Right. In Pasture of "Old Voter Farm"
Leave Weld Village heading toward Carthage. Go about 3 miles to Podunk Pond Rd. Take this Rd. for about 3 miles onto Storer Hill. The Cemetery is on the left.
Storer Hill Cemetery
Leave Weld Village heading toward Carthage. Go about 3 miles toPodunk Pond Rd. Take this Rd. ofr about 1.5 miles onto Storer Hill. The Cemetery is on the left at the crest of the hill. Old fencing around cemetery.
Tainter Corner Cemetery
The Cemetery is located off Route 2 west of Wilton toward the Village of East Dixfield. Three (3) miles out of the East Dixfield toward Rumford is the Town Line between Wilton & Carthage. One (1) mile beyond the town line marker is a right turn. Take this turn - cemetery is located just a short distance on the right. Somewhat overgrown with stones broken and down. Old house beyond cemetery was onece the Tainter Corner Post Office.
Berry Mills Cemetery
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Maine denominations, view the Maine Church Records wiki page.
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
- 1837 - 1965 - Maine & Massachusetts Case Files of Deceased and Deserted Seamen 1837-1965 at FamilySearch - images
Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Maine Land and Property for additional information about early Maine land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
History[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Franklin County, Maine Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Maine Local Histories.
Maps[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
- 1676 - 1918 - Maine, Veterans Cemetery Records, 1676-1918 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1718 - 1957 - Maine, State Archive Collections, 1718-1957 at FamilySearch — index and images
Revolutionary War[edit | edit source]
- 1835 - 1838 - Maine Revolutionary War Bounty Land Applications 1835-1838 at FamilySearch — index and images
Civil War[edit | edit source]
Regiments. Service men in Franklin County, Maine Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Franklin County, Maine Genealogy:
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1914 - 1950 - Maine, State Archives, World War I (WWI) Grave Cards, 1914-1950 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1917 - 1919 - Maine, World War I Draft Registration Index, 1917-1919 at FamilySearch — index and images
Naturalization[edit | edit source]
- 1718-1957 - Maine, State Archive Collections, 1718-1957 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1918-1991 - Maine, United States Naturalization Records, 1918-1991 at FamilySearch — index and images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Maine Newspaper Archive. Indexes free; Digital page images $ (GenealogyBank $) Twenty-two early Maine 18th and 19th century newspapers, 1785-1898 online. Indexes (free); digital images ($). These newspapers are from Augusta, Bangor, Belfast, Brunswick, Castine, Eastport, Falmouth, Hallowell, Kennebunk, Portland, Saco and Wiscasset.
Finding More Maine Newspapers[edit source]
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Franklin County, Maine Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Records
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Maine tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
In Maine, vital records are kept by town clerks or selectmen. Although some towns have existed since the 1650s, most vital records date from about 1700. The vital statistics are often arranged by family. For more information, see the Wiki page for the town and the Wiki page, Maine Vital Records.
- 1589-1966 - Maine, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1670 - 1921 - Maine Vital Records, 1670-1921 at FamilySearch — index and images
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- For current information about a center near you, go to the Family History Center Map
Websites[edit | edit source]
- The Franklin County MEGenWeb Project, an member of The MEGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project.
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for Franklin County
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for Franklin County (backup site)
- FamilySearch.org FamilySearch Catalog for Franklin County
- Franklin County Genealogy (Maine Genealogy)
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Franklin County, Maine" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Franklin_County,_Maine."
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Franklin County, Maine. Page 304-305 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 275.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 304, Franklin County, Maine. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
- Wikipedia contributors, "Franklin_County, Maine," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Franklin_County,_Maine, accessed 4 March 2019.
- Before an extinct town (or plantation) was discontinued, it created official town records of interest to genealogists. For preservation these records were usually turned over to a nearby functioning town in the same county.
- Michael J. Leclerc, Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, 5th ed. (Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012), 97. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974 D27g 2012.