To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Free State Province, South Africa Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
South Africa Wiki Topics
Flag of South Africa.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
South Africa Background
Local Research Resources
Moderator

The FamilySearch moderator for the South Africa is Daniel Jones.

Guide to Province of Free State family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Province of Free State
South Africa ORP.png

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg


Historical Overview[edit | edit source]

History[edit | edit source]

The capital of Free State is Bloemfontein, which is also South Africa's judicial capital. Its historical origins lie in the Orange Free State Boer republic and later Orange Free State Province. The current borders of the province date from 1994 when the Bantustans were abolished and reincorporated into South Africa.

[1]

Localities
[edit | edit source]

List of cities and towns in the Free State.

Maps and gazetteers
[edit | edit source]

A comprehensive set of maps of the Free State, South Africa.

Records[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries
[edit | edit source]

Bloemfontein (Hamilton) Was Cemetery grave listings

Free State, South Africa Cemeteries - War graves project.

Bethelem Cemetery - Van Heerden Family Tree listings

Grave yards in Free State (The Genealogical Society of South Africa)

Find A Grave records for Free State, South Africa

Census
[edit | edit source]

Church records
[edit | edit source]

Dutch Reformed Church (NGK)[edit | edit source]

The Dutch Reform Church records collection on FamilySearch includes records from 1848 to 1956.

Dutch Reformed Church (NHK)[edit | edit source]
Reformed Church (GK)[edit | edit source]
Methodist[edit | edit source]
Anglican[edit | edit source]
Catholic[edit | edit source]

Parish registers, Catholic Church, Mission, Tempe (Orange Free State), 1869-1930 - microfilm available at the Family History Library and some Family history centers.

Other
[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Births, marriages, and deaths began to be registered in 1902.[1]

Deaths[edit | edit source]
Marriages[edit | edit source]

Immigration/Emigration[edit | edit source]

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Land records[edit | edit source]

Orange Free State (South Africa). Registrar of Deeds, 1848-1934.

Orange Free State (South Africa). Land Board - Property claims, confiscations and forfeitures, 1853-1866.

Occupations[edit | edit source]


Probate records[edit | edit source]

See here for a description of what death notices are and where they are located.

School records
[edit | edit source]

Tax records
[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

Microfilm available at the Family History Library

Further Reading[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. The Family History Department of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, “Family History Record Profile: Southern Africa,” Word document, private files of the FamilySearch Content Strategy Team, 1987-1998.