French Polynesia Genealogy
Guide to French Polynesia ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
|French Polynesia Wiki Topics|
|French Polynesia Background|
|Local Research Resources|
Country Information[edit | edit source]
French Polynesia is an island overseas collectivity of the French Republic in the Pacific Ocean whose nearest neighbors are the Cook Islands, Kiribati, and the Pitcairn Islands. The official language is French.
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Getting Started with French Polynesia Research
Links to articles on getting started with French Polynesia research.
French Polynesia Research Tools
Links to articles and websites that assist in French Polynesia research.
French Polynesia Map[edit | edit source]
Genealogy records are kept on the local level in French Polynesia.
Islands[edit | edit source]
Genealogy records are kept on the local level in French Polynesia. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.
French Polynesia lies south of Hawaii and east of Tonga and Samoa. It is composed of 118 islands. From north to south the major island groups are:
FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
- Learning Center - Online genealogy courses
- Historical Records
- Family History Center locator map
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, “French Polynesia,” in ‘’Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,’’ https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/French_Polynesia, accessed 29 April 2016.