Frindsbury, Kent Genealogy
Guide to Frindsbury, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Frindsbury All Saints Kent
|County||Kent, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||North Aylesford|
|Registration District||North Aylesford|
|Parish registers: 1669|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1718|
|Probate Court||Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester|
|Location of Archive|
|Kent History and Library Centre|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
FRINDSBURY (All Saints), a parish, in the union of North Aylesford, hundred of Shamwell, lathe of Aylesford, W division of Kent, 2 miles N by W from Rochester. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.
Frindsbury All Saints is an Ancient parish and includes in the civil parish Frindsbury, Frindsbury Extra Wainscott and Upnor. The parish is in the Diocese of Rochester and a map of the parish boundary is available at A church near you.
The church dates from 1074 and was rebuilt in 1127 and with subsequent 14th century additions and was restored in 1884.
Frindsbury is on the opposite bank of the River Medway from Rochester and the ancient parish was that of the Bishop of Rochester with the purpose of earning income for the bishop.
See All Saints Frindsbury Wikipedia Kent Archeological Society and Edward Hasted, The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 3 (1797), pp. 525-546 at British History Online and Kent Churches website.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
- North Aylesford Registration District
- Strood Registration District
- Strood and Hoo Registration District
- Chatham Registration District
and registrations from July 1837 to the present day are held at
The Register Office
Telephone 01634 338902
Fax 01634 338913
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Frindsbury parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|FMP = findmypast - (£)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free|
|MED = Medway Ancestors - free|
|Frindsbury Online Parish Records|
|BIVRI||1718-1832 (gaps)||1718-1832 (gaps)|
|FMP||1669-1837; 1758-1787 (Banns)|
From Spring 2012 material formerly held at
Centre for Kentish Studies, County Hall, Maidstone, Kent ME14 1XX
is available at Kent History and Library Centre see Kent Archives which also enables a search of the catalogue for Kent Archives material deposited at Canterbury Cathedral Archives
Frindsbury All Saints Baptisms marriages and Burials 1669-1959 reference P 150
digital images may be searched online at Medway Archives City Ark project http://cityark.medway.gov.uk
Family History Library film numbers
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through Family History Center Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
- Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK.
- Introduction to Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
- Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.
Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable).
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]
- Gillingham Family History Centre, Kent
- Canterbury England Family History Centre
- Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent
- Family History Center Portal This centre has access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access in the centre to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
- Publication of the restricted access images England, Kent, Wills and Probate - FamilySearch Historical Records and England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments - FamilySearch Historical Records means that it is advisable to telephone the centre to reserve a computer if you wish to view these.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 263-266. Date accessed: 1 August 2013.
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 27 October 2014.
- 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
- 'Coverage of Kent parish banns', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
- 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
- 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
- 'Medway Ancestors Imagebase: list of parishes, in alphabetical order', Cityark, accessed 8 November 2013.