Fritton, Suffolk Genealogy
Guide to Fritton, Suffolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||Mutford and Lothingland|
|Poor Law Union||Mutford and Lothingland|
|Parish registers: 1706|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1709|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Suffolk|
|Location of Archive|
|Suffolk Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
FRITTON (St. Edmund), a parish, in the hundred of Mutford and Lothingland, E. division of Suffolk, 6 miles (S. W. by S.) from Yarmouth. 
Fritton St Edmund is an Ancient parish in the Lothingland deanery of the Diocese of Norwich and the historical county of Suffolk. Following 1974 local government boundary changes the parish became part of the county of Norfolk.
It is not to be confused with Fritton St Catherine, Norfolk and the change of county can also confuse researchers.
A Norman round tower church with thatched roof and surviving wall painting (see web sites below)
Resources[edit | edit source]
If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries. For those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at Family History Centres. Refer to Fritton and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalogue for available records.
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
- Mutford 1837-1935
- Lothingland 1935-1974
- Waveney St Margaret's House
NR32 1JQTelephone: 01502 405096
Fax: 01502 508170
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Fritton, Suffolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|Fritton, Suffolk Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Registers for the parish are deposited at Norfolk Record Office reference PD 84.
The images for Fritton St Catherine, Norfolk which are displayed in historic records (formerly Record Search) include one marriage register for this parish 1838-1901 53 images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Mutford and Launditch http://www.institutions.org.uk/workhouses/england/suffolk/mutford_workhouse.htm
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Maps[edit | edit source]
Websites[edit | edit source]
http://www.achurchnearyou.com/fritton-st-edmund/ for information about the parish
http://www.paintedchurch.org/frited.htm Church Painting
http://www.roundtowers.org.uk/toptwenty.html Top Twenty Round Tower churches website
http://www.britishlistedbuildings.co.uk/en-227767-church-of-st-edmund-fritton-and-st-olave British listed building
http://www.norfolkchurches.co.uk/frittonedmund/frittonedmund.htm Norfolk Churches website images of church and explanation of county boundary change
http://www.geograph.org.uk/photo/1918774 for images of the church
http://www.kent.ac.uk/library/specialcollections/mills/r.php/22719/show.html for 1911 image of the church
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 266-269. Date accessed: 25 September 2013.
- Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
- 'Suffolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 3 December 2013.
- 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.