Froland Parish, Aust-Agder, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Froland, Aust-Agder, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Froland Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/
Diocese
Agder og Telemark bispedømme (1925-today), Stavanger bispedømme (1684-1925), Oslo bispedømme (1070-1684)
Prosti Arendal prosti
Len 1599-1660 Agdesiden
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1682: Agdesiden, 1682-1685: Christiansand, 1685-1919: Nedene
Fylke 1919-Present Aust-Agder
Region Sørlandet
Prestegjeld Froland
Kommune Froland
Skifteretten Nedenes
Tinglag Froland
Fogderi Nedenes
Sorenskriveri Nedenes
Skipreide Bringsvær skipreide


Church Records[edit | edit source]

  • Microfilm at the Family History Library for Froland prestegjeld (clerical district). Contains priest and sexton records for Froland parish. Was separated from Øyestad clerical district in 1849. See Øyestad clerical district for earlier records. Parish register for the years 1742-1920.

  • Digitized parish registers available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1664-1666 Clerical Census: This census was taken by the local parish priests. It covers Øyestad clerical district, including the parishes of Froland, Fjære, and Øyestad, and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete.


  • 1664-1666 Civil Census: This census was taken by the local civil authorities and covers Øyestad clerical district, including the parishes of Fjære, Froland, and Øyestad, and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. It lists the names of the farms, farmowners (including widows), sons of farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and sons of cottagers and the age of each person. The clerical authorities took a census during this same time period. Both censuses should be used as they supplement each other. The clerical census is more complete.


  • 1701 Manntall: The 1701 tax census for Øyestad clerical district include the parishes of Froland, Fjære, and Øyestad and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. It was taken for military purposes and lists only the males living in rural districts who were over the age of one year. It includes the farm name, name and age of the owner, names and ages of sons and servants. Also includes the residence of all unmarried males living away from home when the census was taken.


  • 1801: The 1801 census for Øyestad clerical district includes Øyestad, Fjære, Froland, and Hisøy parishes and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).


  • 1865: The 1865 census for Froland clerical district is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. It contains the name of the farm, persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, age, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district. In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book. Froland parish was separated from Øyestad clerical district in 1849 when it became its own clerical district. Also availble in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).


  • 1875: The 1875 census for Froland clerical district is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. It contains the name of the farm, persons name, residence, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Also available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).



  • 1900: The 1900 census for Froland clerical district is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. It contains the name of the farm, persons name, sex, resident or temporary resident, temporarily absent and where person is, position in the family, marital status, occupation, when born, where born, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).


Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Dannevig, Birger, Flane, Egil,Froland, Froland, 1979-. Local history and genealogy of the people and their farms in Froland, Aust-Agder County, Norway. FHL 948.28/F4 D2d Farm name indexes to volumes 2,3 and 4 are found in the following links. File:948.28-F4 H2d V2 - Froland.pdf, File:948.28-F4 H2d V3 - FROLAND 3.pdf, File:948.28-F4 H2d v4 - Froland 4.pdf

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:

23 Aalien, 50 Aamdal, 18 Aaveland, 28 Augland,

39 Baaseland, 16 Bendiksplads, 67 Bjellaasen, 15 Blakstad nedre, 36 Bratteland, 37 Brattelandsaasen, 10 Bruseli, 64 Bøilestad,

55 Dale vestre, 42 Dyngedal,

60 Eivenstad, 6 Espeland,

31 Fiskvassøen, 3 Fitje, 59 Fjeldalen, 24 Fjeldmoen, 30 Flækemarken, 9 Froland vestre,

58 Gauperaa,

34 Haavatn, 63 Haugsjaa, 29 Haukaas, 44 Heldal, 65 Hersel, 2 Hillebu, 2 Horv, 1 Horvedal, 4 Horvenes, 40 Hørsdal,

52 Jaammaas, 45 Jarpedalen,

5 Kirkelien,

61 Langeid,32 Lauvrak, 35 Lindstølen, 67 Lyngrott, 54 Løvjaammaas lille,

30 Mjaavatn, 11 Mjølhus vestre, 48 Moripen, 52 Museraa, 17 Mæsel nedre, 53 Møglerød, 27 Mørløs,

18 Neset, 38 Nesland, 2 Nybu,

51 Olsbu,

7 Raana, 24 Reiersel, 25 Reierselmoen, 26 Rogdelien, 47 Rustedalen, 46 Røiseland,

66 Seljestøl, 52 Skallemoen, 7 Solem, 13 Songe, 57 Songelien med Liene, 43 Sparsaas, 33 Stølemarken, 41 Søisdal,

20 Træ, 22 Træsnes, 21 Træsnesneset, 19 Tveiten med Killebu,

62 Valle,

0 land, 49 Øiraas

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Nedenes judicial district
*1640-1824 Family History Library
*1698-1826 Digitalarkivet

Nedenes judicial district to 1824
*1852-1892 Family History Library
*1852-1904 Digitalarkivet

Nedenes deanery
*1693-1811 Family History Library
*1693-1811 Digitalarkivet

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names