Furnival's Inn, London Genealogy
London Furnival's Inn ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Furnival's Inn, London|
|Type||Extra-parochial area (England)|
|Hundred||Inns of Court and Chancery|
|County||London, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Holborn|
|Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Rural Deanery||Not Applicable|
|Probate Court||Search the courts of the surrounding parishes|
|Location of Archive|
|London Metropolitan Archives|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
"Furnival's Inn is on the north side between Leather Lane and Gray's Inn Lane. It is one of the inns of Chancery, and took its name, according to Stow, from having anciently belonged to Sir William Furnival. It has been taken down about seven years ago [about 1824], and rebuilt in a substantial manner by the late Mr Peto, the builder of the New Custom House."
1848 parish description
Furnival’s Inn is an extra-parochial parish and independent liberty, in the city Without the Walls.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Furnival's Inn is an extra-parochial parish and independent liberty. For church records, look at surrounding parishes.
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| This section requires expansion with:
any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Furnival's Inn in Inns or Court on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]