Garston, Lancashire Genealogy

England

Lancashire

Lancashire Parishes

Garston

Guide to Garston, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Garston, Lancashire
Type	Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred	West Derby
County	Lancashire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union	West Derby
Registration District	West Derby
Records begin
Parish registers: 1777
Bishop's Transcripts: 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery	Prescot
Diocese	Chester
Province	York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court	Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Archives

Chapelry History

GARSTON, (St Michael), Church Road was created as a chapelry in 1729 in Childwall, union and hundred of West Derby, S.division of Lancashire, 5 miles (S. E.) from Liverpool. The present day church of St Michael is the third to occupy the site since the thirteenth century monastic settlement. It was built in 1877. A neat place of worship for Wesleyans has been built.

In Medieval times, Garston was home to a group of Benedictine monks. The first recorded mention of settlement in Garston is of the church of St. Michael in 1235. By the 19th century, the area had become a small village, one of the eight townships forming the parish of Childwall. A small dock was first built at Garston in 1793 for Blackburne’s saltworks, which still stands today.

Garston's growth accelerated rapidly in the 1840s, when in 1846, the area's first dock was constructed and opened, under the auspices of the St Helens and Runcorn Gap Railway Company. The "Old Dock" was followed twenty years later by a second, the "New Dock" . In 1902, Garston was incorporated into the City of Liverpool.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church Records

Online Records

• 1538 - 1910 England, Lancashire, Parish Registers 1538-1910 at FamilySearch — index

Church of England

Garston chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Childwall to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)

FMP = findmypast (£)

FREG = FreeReg

FS = FamilySearch.org

LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk

LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk

GARSTON ST MICHAEL Chapelry  (1777) Indexes
	Baptisms	Marriages	Burials
FS	1777-1913	1839-1903, 1920-1925	1777-1900
LOPC	None	None	None
LBMD	None	1839-1939	None
FREG	None	None	1813-1873
CHILDWALL ALL SAINTS PARISH (1557) Indexes (ancient parish containing GARSTON Chapelry)
	Baptisms	Marriages	Burials
FS	1557-1853	1557-1638, 1653-1838	None
LOPC	1557-1753	1557-1638, 1653-1753	1653-1728
LBMD	None	1837-1963	None
AC	1557-1753	1557-1753	1557-1753

For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Garston and comprising the whole ancient parish of Childwall to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the CHILDWALL ALL SAINTS PARISH page.

Parish registers for St. Michael's Church, Garston  Microfilm of original records in the Liverpool Public Library. Later refilmed from original records in the Liverpool Record Office.Liverpool Record Office no.: 1/1, 2/1-14, 3/1-5, 4/1-9.

Baptisms, 1777-1898; Burials, 1777-1813. FHL BRITISH Film 396364
Baptisms, 1898-1920, 1929-1943. FHL BRITISH Film 396365
Marriages, 1839-1903. FHL BRITISH Film 396366
Marriages, 1903-1919. FHL BRITISH Film 396367
Marriages, 1919-1925. FHL BRITISH Film 396368
Marriages, 1925-1939. FHL BRITISH Film 396369
Burials, 1813-1886. FHL BRITISH Film 396370
Burials, 1887-1918, 1920-1958. FHL BRITISH Film 396371
Parish church accounts, 1877-1895. FHL BRITISH Film 396372
Baptisms, 1777-1813; Burials, 1777-1813; Baptisms, 1813-1860 (another filming). FHL BRITISH Film 1545768 Items 6 - 8
Baptisms, 1860-1913 (another filming). FHL BRITISH Film 1545769
Baptisms, 1913-1935; Marriages, 1839-1901 (another filming). FHL BRITISH Film 1545770
Marriages, 1901-1925; Burials, 1813-1871 (another filming). FHL BRITISH Film 1545771
Burials, 1871-1918 (another filming). FHL BRITISH Film 1545772 Items 1 - 7

Bishop's transcripts for Garston, Grassendale, and St. Matthew's and St. James' Church, Mossley Hill

Microfilm of original records at the Lancashire Record Office, Preston. Garston and Grassendale are chapelries in the parish of Childwall. Lancashire Record Office: DRL 2/17

Baptisms and burials, 1813-1847 in Garston; baptisms, 1868-1879 in Grassendale; baptisms, 1875-1876 in St. Matthew's and St. James' Church, Mossley Hill. FHL BRITISH Film 1068854 Item 2

Non Conformist Records

• 1647-1996 England, Lancashire Non-conformist Church Records, 1647-1996 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index (dates may vary by parish)

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.

Poor Law Unions

West Derby, Lancashire Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

• England Jurisdictions 1851
• Vision of Britain

Family History Library