To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Gauteng Province, South Africa Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
South Africa Wiki Topics
Flag of South Africa.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
South Africa Background
Local Research Resources
Moderator

The FamilySearch moderator for the South Africa is Daniel Jones.

Guide to Province of Gauteng family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Province of Gauteng
South Africa ORP.png

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg


Historical Overview[edit | edit source]

History[edit | edit source]

The history of the area that is now Gauteng can be traced back to the early 1800s when settlers originating from the Cape Colony defeated chief Mzilikazi and started establishing villages in the area. Gauteng has only been properly documented since the 1800s and as a result, not much information regarding its history predating the 1800s is available.
Many crucial events happened in present-day Gauteng with regards to the anti-apartheid struggle, such as the Sharpeville massacre of 1960, the Rivonia Trial in 1963 and 1964 and the Soweto Uprising of 1976. Gauteng is the smallest province in South Africa, but also the richest and most crowded. More Gauteng history can be found online at the South Africa History Online website.
[1]

Localities
[edit | edit source]

Information about some of the major cities within the Gauteng Province can be found at http://www.southafrica.com/gauteng/

List of cities and towns in Gauteng

Maps and gazetteers[edit | edit source]

A comprehensive set of maps of the Gauteng Province can be found at this link.

Records[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Grave stone images from graveyards in Gauteng. This is part of the Genealogical Society of South Africa (parent body of eGGSA) National Cemetery Recording Project.

Map of cemeteries near Gauteng

Find A Grave records for Gauteng, South Africa

Census[edit | edit source]

2011 South Africa Census. This population census is a total count of the country's population, where demographic, social and economic information is gathered about the people who live in the country. Statistics specific to Gauteng can be found in this report.

Church records
[edit | edit source]

Dutch Reformed Church (NGK)[edit | edit source]
Dutch Reformed Church (NHK)[edit | edit source]
Reformed Church (GK)[edit | edit source]
Methodist[edit | edit source]
Anglican[edit | edit source]
Catholic
[edit | edit source]
Others
[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Births, marriages, and deaths began to be registered in 1901.[1]

Emigration[edit | edit source]

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Land records[edit | edit source]

Occupations[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

See here for a description of what death notices are and where they are located.

School records[edit | edit source]

Tax records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

Further Reading[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. The Family History Department of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, “Family History Record Profile: Southern Africa,” Word document, private files of the FamilySearch Content Strategy Team, 1987-1998.