Genesee County, Michigan Genealogy
Guide to Genesee County, Michigan ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Genesee County, Michigan|
Location of Michigan in the U.S.
|Founded||March 28, 1835|
|Address||Genesee County Courthouse|
900 S Saginaw St.
Flint, MI 48502
Phone: (810) 257-3225
Genesee County Website
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 Cemeteries
- 5.2 Census
- 5.3 Church
- 5.4 Court
- 5.5 Emigration and Immigration
- 5.6 Land
- 5.7 Local Histories
- 5.8 Maps
- 5.9 Military
- 5.10 Newspapers
- 5.11 Obituaries
- 5.12 Probate
- 5.13 Taxation
- 5.14 Vital Records
- 6 Societies and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for Genesee County, New York. The County has Flint as its seat and the County was created March 28, 1835. The County is located in the southeast area of the state.
Genesee County, Michigan Record Dates[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Probate records from 1836-1953 are housed at the the Genesee Historical Collections Center
History[edit | edit source]
Genesee County is located northwest of the Detroit area and is north of Livingston County and Oakland County. It has a number of communities, including Grand Blanc, Burton, Mundy Township, Davison, and the county seat is Flint.
Parent County[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Michigan county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Michigan County Boundary Maps" (1790-1897) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Michigan Cemeteries for more information.|
Census[edit | edit source]
Church[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Michigan denominations, view the Michigan Church Records wiki page.
Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
Court[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Land[edit | edit source]
- Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Michigan Land and Property for additional information about early Michigan land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed. 1835-Present - Land Records housed at County Administration Building
- Online Deeds Search - Index of deeds held at Genesee County Register of Deeds. Index does not include early records.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Genesee County, Michigan Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Michigan Local Histories.
Maps[edit | edit source]
- Family Maps of Genesee County, Michigan Genealogy (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- Maps of Michigan (1790-1897)
Military[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
Civil War service men from Genesee County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Genesee County.
- Michigan, Civil War Centennial Observance Commission, Committee on Civil War Grave Registration, Burial Records at FamilySearch — index
- 1876-1945 - Michigan, Grand Army of the Republic Membership Records, 1876-1945 at FamilySearch — index
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1917-1919 - Michigan, Census of World War I Veterans with Card Index, 1917-1919 at FamilySearch — index
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Finding More Michigan Newspapers[edit source]
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Genesee County, Michigan Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- 1820-2006 - Michigan Obituaries, 1820-2006 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 2000-2016- Obituary Index at Flint Public Library--Index to obituaries found in Genesee County newspapers.
Probate[edit | edit source]
- 1836-1953-Probate records are housed at the the Genesee Historical Collections Center, Room 227, Frances Willson Thompson Library, University of Michigan, Flint.
- 1953-Present-Probate records are available from Probate Judge.
Online Probate Records
- 1784 – 1980 Michigan Wills and Probate Records 1784-1980 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1797 – 1973 Michigan Probate Records 1797-1973 at FamilySearch — images
Taxation[edit | edit source]
1797 – 1973 Genesee County, Michigan Tax records, 1844-1880, 1890 at FamilySearch — images
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased as shown below:
- Birth Records and Death Records from the Michigan Department of Community Health (from 1867) or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
- Marriage Records (from 1867) and Divorce Records (from 1897) from the County Clerk.
- Marriage Records (from 1867) and Divorce Records (from 1897) from the County Clerk.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1867-1917 - Michigan, County Births, 1867-1917 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1867-1902 - Michigan Birth Registrations, 1867-1902-- Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch. Records include such information as name of child, birthdate and place, if still-born, illegitimate or twin, gender, race and record number.
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1585-1945 - Michigan, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1820-1937 - Michigan, County Marriages Index, 1820-1937 at FamilySearch — index
- 1820-1940 - Michigan, County Marriages, 1820-1940 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1868-1925 - Michigan Marriage Registrations, 1868-1925 -- Free name indexes at FamilySearch. Records include such information as names of bride and groom, date of license, ages, race, residences, birthplaces, occupations and names of the fathers of the bride and groom.
- 1965-Present - Genesee County Online Records Search--Free name indexes of records housed at Genesee County Courthouse.
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1850-1880 - Michigan Mortality Schedules, 1850-1880 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1867-1897 - Michigan Death Registrations, 1867-1897 -- Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch. Records include such information as name of deceased, date and place of death, gender, color, marital status, age in years, months and days, disease or apparent cause of death, birthplace, names and occupations of parents, and the date the record was made.
- 1897-1952 - Michigan Death Certificates --Free digitized death certificates at SeekingMichigan.org. Database searchable by first name, last name, death date, father's name, and county.
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
1026 E. Kearsley
Flint, MI 48503
Flint Public Library is home to the second largest open stack genealogical collection in Michigan.
Genesee Historical Collections Center
Room 227, Frances Willson Thompson Library
University of Michigan, Flint
Flint, MI 48502
Telephone: (810) 762-3402
Perry Archives of the Sloan Museum
1221 E. Kearsley Street
Flint, Michigan 48503
Telephone: (810) 237-3440
Written email appointments are strongly encouraged. Archive contains large newspaper collection, family journals, and funeral home records.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- For current information about a center near you, go to the Family History Center Map
- Flint Michigan Family History Center 1225 Robert T Longway Blvd, Flint, MI 48503 United States
- Grand Blanc Michigan Family History Center 4285 McCandish Rd, Grand Blanc, MI 48439 United States
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Genesee County, MI History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Michigan Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Michigan Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Genesee County MI Genealogy (Michigan Genealogy)
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Genesee County, Michigan" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Genesee_County,_Michigan."
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Genesee County, Michigan . Page 343-351 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 346-349.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Genessee County, Michigan page 345, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Genesee County, Michigan," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Genesee_County,_Michigan, accessed 18 September 2019.