Gentleshaw, Staffordshire Genealogy
Guide to Gentleshaw, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||East Cuttlestone; South Offlow|
|County||Staffordshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Lichfield; Penkridge|
|Registration District||Lichfield; Penkridge|
|Parish registers: 1837|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1837|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield and Coventry (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Staffordshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
GENTLESHAWE, a chapelry in Longdon and Cannock parishes, Stafford; in Cannock Chase, 4 miles E of Cannock r. station, and 5 S of Rugeley. It was constituted in 1840.
Gentleshaw Christ Church is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Staffordshire, created in 1840 from Longdon Ancient Parish and Cannock Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Gentleshaw, Cannock, Cannock Wood, Hednesford and Leacroft.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Gentleshaw parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch - free|
|GENTLESHAW PARISH Online Records|
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Reference[edit | edit source]
- 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 27 October 2014.
- 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.