Gilston, Hertfordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Gilston, Hertfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Gilston, Hertfordshire
Type England Jurisdictions
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Braughin
County Hertfordshire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Ware
Registration District Ware
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bishop's Stortford
Diocese Pre-1845 - London; Post-1844 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Middlesex (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)
Location of Archive
Hertfordshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

GILSTONE, a parish, in the union of Ware, hundred of Braughin, county of Hertford, 2 miles (W. N. W.) from Harlow.[1]


Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Gilston, Hertfordshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
HERTS = Hertfordshire Names Online - free[5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[7]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[8]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[9]
GILSTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1880-1896
1838-1894

BOYD
1559-1812

FREG
1559-1812

HERTS To 1837
IGI 1558-1896 1558-1836
JOIN
1559-1836

NBI

1800-1851
PALL
1800-1812

Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hertfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Gilston on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, 1831. Adapted. Date accessed: 11 January 2014.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 13 December 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
  4. 'Hertfordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 3 December 2013.
  5. 'Marriages and Marriage Licences (1538-1922),' Hertfordshire County Council, accessed 6 March 2014.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hertford, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 11 December 2013.
  7. Hertfordshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 12 December 2013.
  8. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 12 December 2013.
  9. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.