Girton, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Girton, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
Girton St Cecilia Nottinghamshire
|County||Nottinghamshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Newark|
|Parish registers: 1680; For more records see South Scarle|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1602|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
GIRTON, a parish, in the union, and N. division of the wapentake, of Newark, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 8 miles (S. E. by E.) from Tuxford.
Girton St Cecilia was formed originally as a chapelry of South Scarle, Nottinghamshire Genealogy Ancient Parish.
The Parish Church of St Cecilia was rebuilt in 1879 by Ewan Christian and has been designated a grade II listed Building British listed building
See also Girton Wikipedia
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
This parish was from 1837 within Newark registration district
Certificates can be obtained from:
The Register Office
Church records[edit | edit source]
Girton, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|GIRTON PARISH Online Records|
Girton St. Cecilia
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1680-1901 Marriages 1680-1901 Burials 1680-1901 Bishop’s Transcripts 1598-1842
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection
Girton - St. Cecilia's. An alphabetical listing of the transcriptions of Memorial Inscriptions both inside and outside the Church dated from 1743, giving surname, given name, date of death and age. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 69, pages 5-7, Family History Library Ref 942.52 D25n
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..