Gjøvdal Parish, Aust-Agder, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Gjøvdal, Aust-Agder, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.


Gjøvdal Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/
Diocese
Agder og Telemark bispedømme (1925-today), Stavanger bispedømme (1684-1925), Oslo bispedømme (1070-1684)
Prosti Aust-Nedenes prosti
Len 1599-1660 Agdesiden
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1682: Agdesiden, 1682-1685: Christiansand, 1685-1919: Nedene
Fylke 1919-Present Aust-Agder
Region Sørlandet
Prestegjeld Åmli
Kommune Åmli
Skifteretten Østre Råbyggelag
Tinglag Østre Raabyggelag
Fogderi Østre Raabyggelag
Sorenskriveri Nedenes
Skipreide Strengreid skipreide


Church Records[edit | edit source]

See Åmli

Census Records[edit | edit source]

See Åmli

Court Records[edit | edit source]

History[edit | edit source]

Gjøvdal parish was also periodically known as Grøvdal parish.

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

See Åmli farm history, Volume 2.

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Names Index in about 1900 and the farm names found in Åmli  Ætt og Heim II (Gjøvdal) are combined in the list below:

22 Aamland, Asbjørn Vrålson, 20 Askland, Austigard, Austjordet,

Bakkane, Bekkerhus, Bjønnåsen, Brubakk, Bruheim, Bø,

Dahlsmo, Der Heime, Der nee Homdrom, Der vest,

Ekra, 16 Espestøl,

Festegrun, Fiane, Fjellsenden, Fjellstad, Flateland, Flaten, Fosse, Fossli, Furulund,

27 Gangsei, 15 Gjevdeli, Gråstoga,

19 Haagestøl, Hagane, Hagen, 23 Harstveit, Haugli, Haugå, Heimly, Heimtun, Holta, 25 Homdrum, Homme, Hommen, 26 Hunemoen, Hægestøyl, Høgevoll, Hågestoøyl,

17 Jørundland,

Kleiva, Kleivane, Kleivvoll, Klinghola, Knut Gjøvlands, Kringlevollen, Kvernhusbakken, 25 Kviengen, Kåsa,

Landbo, 21 Landsværk, Langevoll, Lauvfok, Lillekjennkleiva, Lunden, Lundevoll,

18 Mjaaland, Midtbo, Midtre Skeimo, Midttun, Mikkel, Modøl, Moe, Moghus, Monen, Monland, Mossli, Mosvall, Myrland, nedre Hægestøyl,

Negarden Oland, Nord-Fiane, Nordgard, Nordre Espestøyl, Norheim, Nygård, Nyli, Nystøyl,

24 Oland, 28 Olstad, Oppigard,

15 Rokkedalen, Rydland, Rysstad,

Saga, Sandnes, Saurbekkflota, Seltveit, Selås, Sessjordet, Skeimo, Skeimo Midtre, Skoglund, Skogly, Slettine, 15 Smedland, Solberg, Solhaug, Sollid, Sollyst, 17 Stedjan, Storbekkli, Støylen, Sundstøyl, Søgarden, Søgarden Jørundland, Søjordet Urdine, Søstog, Såheim,

Tiljone, Timmerbakk,

Urdine, Urdine Noirdjordete, Urdine Søjordet,

Valle, Vang, Vesleheim, Viken, Vollen, Vrålson,

Østerhus, Øvre Hægestøyl, Øygarden,

Åmland, Åneli, Årli, Åsen

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Østre Råbyggelag judicial district
*1697-1852 Family History Library
*1697-1852 Digitalarkivet

Nedenes judicial district to 1824
*1852-1892 Family History Library
*1852-1904 Digitalarkivet

Nedenes deanery
*1693-1811 Family History Library
*1693-1811 Digitalarkivet

References[edit | edit source]

- Hodne, Torgils. Åmli  Ætt og Heim  BInd II  Gjøvdal.  Kragerø: Naper Boktrykkeri, 1981.

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names