Gjestal Parish, Rogaland, Norway Genealogy
Guide to Gjestal, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
|Amt 1689-1919||1662-1682: Stavanger stiftamt, |
1682-1919: Stavanger amt
|Fogderi||Jæderen og Dalene|
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- Contain priest and sexton records from the parishes Time (Lye) and Gjestal in Lye clerical district until 1927. The clerical district was divided in 1927 and became Time clerical district with Time parish, and Gjesdal clerical district with Gjesdal parish. These records are available on microfilm at the Family History Library.
- Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
Census Records[edit | edit source]
- For censuses prior to 1891 see Lye
- 1891: The 1891 census for Gjestal is available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1900: The 1900 census for Gjestal is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. This census contains the persons name, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish, and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, marital status, occupation, date of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1910: The 1910 census for Gjestal is available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkviet (Digital Archives).
Court Records[edit | edit source]
The court records contain reports of civil and criminal actions, including the allodial rights, a system of ownership by which an owner has all rights associated with possessing a property. You will find names, dates, places, and relationships in these records. The records have no indexes, and therefore require time to study. They are excellent sources for genealogical research and at times you can find entire families through several generations. These records must be used in conjunction with the mortgage records, probate records, or other records.
These records are for Jæren and Dalane judicial districts which include these places: Hetland (Frue), Høyland, Klepp, Time (Lye), Håland, Ogna, Sandnes, Helleland, Egersund, Lund, Sokndal, Heskestad, Hå, Bjerkreim, Randaberg, Sola, Madla, Varhaug, Nærbø, and Gjestal in Rogaland county.
Land Records[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Availability[edit | edit source]
Gjesdal police station
*1886-1972 death protocol Digitalarkivet
Farm Book[edit | edit source]
Arneson, Søren, "Gards- of ættesoga for Gjestal", [Gjestal: Gjestal kommune, 1964. 948.31/G1 D2a 1964 FHL INTL Book
Farm Names[edit | edit source]
7 Aalgaard, 29 Auestad,
11 Berge, 26 Bjelland, 8 Bollestad, 20 Brekken, 6 Bærland,
25 Halleland, 30 Hareland, 15 Haugemorken, 22 Helland,
28 Kluge, 31 Kringlelien, 34 Kvassaas, 33 Kydland, 31 Kyllingstad,
10 Lima indre, 12 Lomeland,
4 Nese, 32 Nordaasen, 17 Nævland,
14 Oltedal nedre, 31 Opsal, 23 Orreberg,
1 Sikvaland lille, 3 Skorve, 34 Søiland,
24 Tjetland, 31 Tøgje,
21 Vatne, 8 Vaula, 18 Vølstad,
Arneson, Søren, "Gards- of ættesoga for Gjestal", [Gjestal: Gjestal kommune, 1964. 948.31/G1 D2a 1964 FHL INTL Book. Vol II TIME Chronicles 948.31/T1 D29
Berge 17, Berland 24, Bjelland 29, Bollestad 36, Brekko 39,
Edland 43, Eidland 58,
Hadland 78, Hareland 82, Haukamork 88, Helland 92,
Kluge 98, Kydland 105, Kyllingstad 111,
Lima 131, Lomeland 149,
Nese 162, Nevland 166, Nordås 171,
Rage 192, Ravndal 194,
Sikveland 201, Skorve 206, Søyland 212,
Vatne 223, Vølstad 225,
Ålgård 234, Årreberg 242