Frederiksberg Godthåb Parish, København, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Frederiksberg Godthåb, Denmark ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

History[edit | edit source]

Godthåbs parish was created on 22 September 1909 from the disbanded De Classenske boliger congregation along with parts of Mariendal, Skt. Lukas, and Skt. Thomas parishes.

The following is a chronological list of changes to the parish:

  • 1931 - part of the parish was split and went to Skt. Lukas parish.

(Write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)

Frederiksberg Godthåbs Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Københavns Stift
Pastorat (chapelry) Godthaabs Pastorat
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 Add here
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 København
Herred (district) Add here
Kommune (municipality) Add here
1788 – 1793 Lægd number Add here
1794 – 1869 Lægd number Add here
Gods (estate) Den kongelige Lands-over- samt Hof- og Stadsret i København; København Byting; Underadmiralitetsretten; Hofretten; Borgretten; Magistrats skiftekommission; Generalauditøren; Engelsholm gods; Vinderslevgård gods; Tjele gods; Landsretten; Landsretten; Overretten; København amtmand; Stadsretten
v • d • e


Place Names[edit | edit source]

Bentzonsvej, Beringsvej, Bernhard Bangs Alle

C.F. Richs Vej

Dalgas Boulevard

Edvard Glæsels Vej, Emanuel Olsens Vej, Emil Chr. Hansens Vej

Fabrikvej, Falstersvej, Femte Juni Plads, Fru Gyllembourgs Vej

Godthaabsvej, Grøndalsvej, Guldborgvej

La Cours Vej, Langelands Plads, Langelandsvej, Lollandsvej, Lyøvej

Mathilde Fibigers Vej, Moltkesvej, Mælkevej

N. Dalhoffs Vej, Nandrupsvej, Nordre Fasanvej, Nyelands Plads, Nyelandsvej

Oscar Ellingers Vej

P. Andersens Vej

Rostrupsvej

Segelckesvej, Sprogøvej, Spurveskjul, Stockflethsvej, Storchsvej

Tesdorpfsvej, Thurøvej

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records[edit | edit source]

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Genealogical Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Denmark Feast Day Calendars will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Personal Names.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting:
Gothic Script and examples (Danish)
Gothic script help links (Danish)
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections[edit | edit source]

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources[edit | edit source]



Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]

Click Denmark, København Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you. 

Click on "Places within Denmark, København" and then select your parish.


References[edit | edit source]

Retrieved from "https://wwwp.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Frederiksberg_Godthåb_Parish,_København,_Denmark_Genealogy&oldid=4134363"