Goring by Sea, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Goring by Sea, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Goring by Sea, Sussex|
|Poor Law Union||East Preston|
|Parish registers: 1560|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1571|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
GORING (St. Mary), a parish, in the hundred of Poling, rape of Arundel, W. division of Sussex, 2½ miles (W.) from Worthing.
Goring by Sea is an Ancient Parish in Sussex. The current church of St Mary replaced the former St Lawrence Norman church. The history of the three Anglican churches is described Goring St Laurence, St Mary and St Richard
Goring and Ferring Free Church List of demolished worship places in West Sussex
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was in the Worthing registration district
which was abolished in 1870 and recreated in 1935
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralised Certificates Office Registration Service West Sussex Record Office County Hall Chichester PO19 1RN Phone: 01243 642122
Church records[edit | edit source]
Goring by Sea, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|Goring by Sea, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Goring St Lawrence/St Mary
West Sussex Record Office has deposited parish Registers Bap 1560-1876 Marr 1560-1910 Bur 1560-1892
Bishop's Transcripts 1571-1902
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Goring by Sea
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
See Sussex Census
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A. A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 315-319. Date accessed: 27 September 2013
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 3 January 2014.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.
To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.