Gotham, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Gotham, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
:Gotham St Lawrence Nottinghamshire
|County||Nottinghamshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Basford|
|Parish registers: 1560|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1605|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
GOTHAN (St. Lawrence), a parish, in the union of Basford, S. division of the wapentake of Rushcliffe and of the county of Nottingham, 7½ miles (S. S. W.) from Nottingham. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.
Gotham St Lawrence is an Ancient Parish; the church of St Lawrence dates from the 13th century. Gotham St Lawrence history
The parish church of St Lawrence has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
Famed for the "Wise men of Gotham" see Gotham wikipedia
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
This area was from 1837 part of the Basford registration district
Church records[edit | edit source]
Gotham, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|GOTHAM PARISH Online Records|
Gotham St Laurence
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1561-1937 Marriages 1561-1928 Burials 1560-1971 Bishop’s Transcripts 1605-1859
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Gotham
Gotham - Primitive Methodist Chapel. A transcription of the War Memorial for W.W.1 and 2, giving surname, and christian name. plus some inscriptions in the church of folk who attended the church. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 87 page 60, FHL Ref. 942.52 D25n
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
1811 Census - Gotham. Census of Gothamn taken on 10 March 1811, showing given name, and surname head of household, Agriculture or Trade, and number of males, and females in each household. This was done for taking ac account of the population of Great Britian. Taken from Nottinghamshire Archives Ref PR 21,408, transcription in Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol. 95, pages 9-11, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n
Military[edit | edit source]
War Memorial - Gotham Memorial Hall. A transcription of the war memorial of W.W.1, at the Gotham Memorial Hall, and also those who were killed at no. 2 Shell Filling Factory, Chilwell, also those that served in W.W. 1 and 2, giving surname, and initials of the given name. Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol 87, pages 59-60, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n
Occupation[edit | edit source]
Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
- 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 12 January 2015.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.