Great Cressingham, Norfolk Genealogy
Guide to Great Cressingham, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Great Cressingham, Norfolk|
|County||Norfolk, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Swaffham|
|Parish registers: 1557|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1692|
|Diocese||Pre-1847 - None; Post-1846 - Norwich|
|Probate Court||Pre-1847 - Court of the Royal Peculiar of Great Cressingham; Post-1846 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk|
|Location of Archive|
|Norfolk Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
CRESSINGHAM, GREAT (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Swaffham, hundred of South Greenhoe, W. division of Norfolk, 12 miles (N. N. E.) from Brandon. 
| This section requires expansion with:
a summary overview of the history of this parish.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Great Cressingham, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free|
|JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|Great Cressingham, Norfolk Genealogy Online Records|
Non-Conformist Church Records[edit | edit source]
- 1613-1901 England, Norfolk Non-conformist Records, 1613-1901 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index (dates may vary by parish)
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Genealogy[edit | edit source]
Perry, Edmund G. Goulty and the Nelson Connection. History and family tree of richard Goulty and Ann surname unknown, and Edmund Nelson and Mary nee Bland, with the following surnames, Wallis, Sharp, Fletcher and Suckling. Dates cover 1703-1839, and the article is in The Norfolk Ancestor. vol. 6 pt. 3, pages 178-179, Family History Library Ref. 942.61 B2j new series. v.6. pt.3 (Sept 2009).
Hart, Marie. Early Birds (A brief summary) Summary of the descendants of John Hynsbey, whose daughter Mary married John Bunnett of Mildenhall. The descendants move to Gt. Cressingham, and one branch to Don, Scotland, and another to Tasmania, and Melbourne, Australia. Article is dated from 1741-1893, and is found in The Norfolk Ancestor, vol. 7, pt 11, Dec. 1995, pages 462-463. Family History Library Ref. 942.61 B2j vol7, n.6-13.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Norfolk: Great Cressingham on GenUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp720-725.Date accessed: 18 March 2013.
- Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987).
- 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 25 February 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
- 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 10 February 2014.
- Pallot's Marriage and Births Indexes: Guide to Parishes, n.d.