Great Eversden, Cambridgeshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Great Eversden, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Great Eversden, Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Longstow
County Cambridgeshire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Caxton
Registration District Caxton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bourn
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Ely
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

EVERSDEN, GREAT (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Caxton and Arrington, hundred of Longstowe, county of Cambridge, 7¼ miles SE by E from Caxton.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Great Eversden parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS BTs = FamilySearch Bishop's Transcripts - free[2]
Great Eversden Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS BTs
1599-1861 1599-1861
1599-1861

Parish registers for Great Eversden, 1541-1879 at FHL

Bishop's transcripts for the parish church of Great Eversden, 1599-1861 at FHL. This microfilm has been digitised.

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
  • Independent/Congregational

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Great Eversden on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 191-195. Date accessed and adapted: 03 July 2013.
  2. FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 12 April 2016.