Great Milton Oxfordshire
Guide to Great Milton, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Great Milton Oxfordshire|
|Poor Law Union||Thame|
|Parish registers: 1550|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1604|
|Probate Court||Pre-1846 - Court of the Peculiar of Banbury; Post-1845 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and the Archdeaconry of Oxford; Court of the Peculiar of Banbury; Court of the Peculiar of Aylesbury|
|Location of Archive|
|Oxfordshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
MILTON, GREAT (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Thame, partly in the hundred of Bullingdon,but chiefly in that of Thame, county of Oxford, 4 miles(W. by N.) from Tetsworth; containing the hamlets of Ascott and Chilworth. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Great Milton Oxfordshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.|
|Great Milton Oxfordshire Online Parish Records|
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.  Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
England Jurisdictions 1851
Vision of Britain