Greece Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Greece ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Greece Wiki Topics
Flag of Greece.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Greece Background
Local Research Resources

Country Information[edit | edit source]

Greece is a country in Southeastern Europe located at the crossroads of Europe, Asia, and Africa. It is bordered by Albania, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (FYROM), Bulgaria, and Turkey. Greece belonged to the Ottoman Empire from the fifteenth century to 1821. The official language is Greek.[1]

Getting Started[edit | edit source]

Getting Started with Greece Research

Links to articles on getting started with Greece research. For instructions in Greek, see Η Οικογενειακή σου Ιστορία

Greece Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Greece research.

For ordering birth, marriage, and death records
  • GreekAncestry.net, name-searchable databases of records in Greece. Updated monthly with new collections. Free indexes, images ($)
Ask the
Community

Greece Clickable Map[edit | edit source]

This map shows the regions (Perifereia - Περιφέρεια) and counties (Nomos - Νομός) of Greece. To see a map of the former prefectures of Greece, go to Greece Jurisdictions.

ChaniaChaniaRethymnoHeraklionHeraklionLasithiLasithiLasithiLasithiLasithiLasithiDramaThasosKavalaXanthiRhodopeEvrosEvrosMount AthosChalkidikiChalkidikiThessalonikiSerresKilkisPieriaImathiaPellaGrevenaKozaniKastoriaFlorinaKarditsaTrikalaLarissaMagnesiaMagnesiaSkantzouraPeristeraAlonnisosSkopelosSkiathosKyra PanagiaGiouraGiouraPiperiPsathouraPrevezaArtaThesprotiaIoanninaOthonoiEreikoussaMathrakiPaxoiAntipaxoiCorfuSpartiSkorpiosMrganisiKalamosKastosLefkadaArkoudiAtokosIthacaCephalonia or KefaloniaZakynthosStrofadesStrofadesEvrytaniaFokida (Phocis)Fthiotida (Phthiotis)Boeotia (Viotia)Boeotia (Viotia)Boeotia (Viotia)Evia (Euboea)Evia (Euboea)Evia (Euboea)SkyropoulaEriniaValaxaSkyrosIlia (Elis)AchaeaAetolia-AcarnaniaAetolia-AcarnaniaAetolia-AcarnaniaAetolia-AcarnaniaAetolia-AcarnaniaAetolia-AcarnaniaAetolia-AcarnaniaAetolia-AcarnaniaAetolia-AcarnaniaLaconiaLaconiaMessiniaMessiniaMessiniaMessiniaMessiniaMessiniaArgolisArgolisCorinthiaCorinthiaCorinthiaArcadiaAntikythiraKythiraVelopoulaSpetsopoulaSpetsesDokosYdraGros GeorgiosPorosTroizinia-MethanaAgkistriAiginaSalaminaAthens PiraeusFourniFourniFourniFourniIkariaSamosOinoussesAntipsaraPsaraChiosLesbosAgios EfswtratiosLemnosMakronisiKeaKythnosGyarosGyarosSyrosAndrsTinosRineiaMykonosMykonosMykonosMykonosSerfopoulaSerifosSifnosPolyaigosKimolosAntimilosMilosStrongyliDespotikoAntiparosParosNaxosAg ParaskeviMacheredDonousaIrakleiaSchinoussaSchinoussaKato KoufonisiKoufonisiaKerosAntikeriNikouriaAmorgosAnhydroFolegandrosSikinosIosThirasiaThiraThiraThiraPachiaMakraFtenaAnafiKasosKarpathosAstakidaChamiliZaforaZaforaZaforaSyrnaMesonisiStefaniaPlakidaChalkiAlimiaRhodesSymiGaidarosAntitilosTilosOfidoussaPontikoussaKoutsomytiKounoupoiAstypalaiaMegalo LivadiKinarosGlarosLevithaKandeloussaPergausaPacheiaNisyrosGyaliKosPserimosKalolimnosKalymnosArchaggelosLerosLeipsoiKalovolosAgreloussaPatmosArkoiAgathonisiGreece.png




Regions (Perifereia) and Counties (Prefectures)[edit | edit source]

County
Attica Region

Counties of the Region of
Central Greece

Counties of
Central Macedonia

Counties of
Crete

Counties of the
Eastern Macedonia and Thrace

Counties of
Epirus Region

Counties of the Region
of the
Ionian Islands

Counties of the
North Aegean Region

Counties of the
Peloponnese Region

Counties of the
South Aegean Region

Counties of
Thessaly

Counties of
Western Greece

Counties of
Western Macedonia

FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Greece," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Greece, accessed 23 March 2016.