Greene County, Ohio Genealogy
Guide to Greene County, Ohio ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Greene County, Ohio | |
| Map | |
| |
 Location of Ohio in the U.S. | |
| Courthouse | |
 | |
| Address | Greene County Courthouse 45 N. Detroit Street Xenia, Ohio 45385 Greene County Website |
|---|---|
Contents
- 1 Greene County, Ohio Record Dates
- 2 Resources
- 2.1 Bible Records
- 2.2 Biography
- 2.3 Business Records and Commerce
- 2.4 Cemeteries
- 2.5 Census
- 2.6 Church Records
- 2.7 Court Records
- 2.8 Emigration and Immigration
- 2.9 Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
- 2.10 Gazetteers
- 2.11 Genealogy
- 2.12 History
- 2.13 Land and Property
- 2.14 Maps
- 2.15 Military
- 2.16 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 2.17 Newspapers
- 2.18 Obituaries
- 2.19 Periodicals
- 2.20 Probate
- 2.21 Public Records
- 2.22 Repositories
- 2.23 Taxation
- 2.24 Vital Records
- 3 Websites
- 4 References
Greene County, Ohio Record Dates[edit | edit source]
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1869 | 1803 | 1870 | 1802 | 1803 | 1803 | 1820 |
Description[edit | edit source]
The county was named for General Nathanael Greene, an officer in the Revolutionary War. It's county seat is Xenia and was founded May 1, 1803. It is located in the South-western area of the state.[3]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county: [4]
| Cities | ||
|
||
| Villages | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
| Townships | ||
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Clark County • Madison County • Fayette County • Clinton County • Warren County • Montgomery County
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Ohio county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Ohio County Boundary Maps" (1788-1888) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
For an extensive list of resources for Bible Records see Ohio Bible Records.
Biography[edit | edit source]
Business Records and Commerce[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| Family History Library | ||
| WorldCat | ||
| Billion Graves | ||
| OHGenWeb | ||
| OHGenWeb Tombstone Photos | ||
| See Ohio Cemeteries for more information. | ||
- Woodland Cemetery, Dayton, Greene, Ohio Online Records
Census[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1810 | 5,870 | — |
| 1820 | 10,529 | 79.4% |
| 1830 | 14,801 | 40.6% |
| 1840 | 17,528 | 18.4% |
| 1850 | 21,946 | 25.2% |
| 1860 | 26,197 | 19.4% |
| 1870 | 28,038 | 7.0% |
| 1880 | 31,649 | 12.9% |
| 1890 | 29,820 | −5.8% |
| 1900 | 31,613 | 6.0% |
| 1910 | 29,733 | −5.9% |
| 1920 | 31,221 | 5.0% |
| 1930 | 33,259 | 6.5% |
| 1940 | 35,863 | 7.8% |
| 1950 | 58,892 | 64.2% |
| 1960 | 94,642 | 60.7% |
| 1970 | 125,057 | 32.1% |
| 1980 | 129,769 | 3.8% |
| 1990 | 136,731 | 5.4% |
| 2000 | 147,886 | 8.2% |
| 2010 | 161,573 | 9.3% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, see Ohio Church Records.
- various years - Churches of Early Greene County Courtesy OhioGenWeb
- various years - Community contributed church record extracts Courtesy OhioGenWeb Archives
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Genealogy[edit | edit source]
Miami Valley Genealogical Index is an Index to more than a half million pointers to records all over Miami Valley including Greene County.
History[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Greene County, Ohio Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Ohio Local Histories.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
- Greene County Home Coming Association, Greene County, 1803-1908, (Xenia, Ohio: Aldine Publishing House, 1908). Digital copy at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Google Books, Internet Archive, Ancestry ($)(Indexed); FHL film 599117 Item 2; book 977.174 H2g
- Kilner, Arthur R., Greene County, Ohio, Past and Present, (Bowie, Maryland: Heritage Books, 1997). FHL book 977.174 H2k
- Dills, R.S., History of Greene County, (Dayton, Ohio: Odeli and Mayer, 1881). Digital copy at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Google Books, FHL film 924476 Item 1; book 977.174 H2d
- Robinson, George F., History of Greene County, Ohio, (Chicago, Illinois: S. J. Clarke Publishing Company, 1902). Digital copy at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive, FHL film 1000316 Item 1.
- Broadstone, M.A., History of Greene County, Ohio: Its People, Industries and Institutions, (Indianapolis, Indiana: B. F. Bowen and Co., 1918). Digital copy at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Google Books, Internet Archive, FHL book 977.174 H2hg v.1-2.
- Howe, Henry, History of Greene County, Ohio, 1803-1889, excerpt from Historical Collections of Ohio, (Columbus, Ohio: Howe, 1898). FHL film 1597817 Item 5; book 977.174 H2h
- Mills, William, Centennial Historical Address: Greene County, Ohio; Delivered 4 July 1876, (Xenia, Ohio: Gazette Steam Print, 1876). Digital copy at Google Books Internet Archive
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
- 1790-1907 - Bureau of Land Management database Courtesy OhioGenWeb Archives
- various years - Community contributed deeds Courtesy OhioGenWeb Archives
Maps[edit | edit source]
for more resources
Military[edit | edit source]
- 1888-1919 - Ohio Soldier Home Records, 1888-1919 at FamilySearch — index and images
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1914-1919 - Ohio, World War I Statement of Service Cards, 1914-1919 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1914-1918 - Ohio, World War I, Enrollment Cards, 1914-1918 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1916-1920 - Ohio, WWI Index and Return Cards, 1916-1920 at FamilySearch — index
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- 1800-1977 - Ohio, County Naturalization Records, 1800-1977 at FamilySearch — index and images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Greene County, Ohio Genealogy newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.
To access newspapers, contact public libraries, Ohio Genealogical Society chapters, college or university libraries, the Library of Congress, Google News, or the Ohio Memory. The Ohio Genealogical Society Obituary Database is another source of newspaper information.
For more Ohio newspaper information see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Ohio Newspapers and Obituaries. Online Newspapers
Online Newspaper Abstracts
Newspaper Extracts and Abstracts in Book Form
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate[edit | edit source]
From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. After 1852, records are held by the {{{1}}} County Probate Court. Records include wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only). The records may give the decedent's date of death, name of spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
See Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records. Online Probate Records
- 1786 - 1998 Ohio Wills and Probate Records 1786-1998 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1789 - 1996 Ohio Probate Records 1789-1996 at FamilySearch.org — images
- 1790–1967 - Ohio, Probate Records, 1790-1967 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free. This collection consists of probate records and estate files from county courthouses in Ohio. The content and time period varies by county, with more records being added as they become available. This Collection will include records from 1789 to 1996. Currently, (September 2012) the collection is only searchable by browsing the images. A list of Fires that have destroyed records in the courthouses of several counties are listed on the Record Description page.
- 1796-1976 - Greene County probate records Courtesy OhioGenWeb
- various years - community contributed wills Courtesy OhioGenWeb Archives
Finding More Probate Records[edit source]
Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Greene County, Ohio Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- FamilySearch Catalog (For instructions see FamilySearch Catalog Places Search).
Public Records[edit | edit source]
Repositories[edit | edit source]
Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Greene County Courthouse
45 N Detroit Street
Xenia, OH 45385
Phone: 937.376.5290
Probate Judge has birth records 1869-1908,
marriage and probate records from 1803;
Clerk Court has divorce and court records
from 1802; County Recorder has land records
from 1803; County Auditor has tax records
from 1803; County Health Department has birth
records from 1908[5]
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Dayton Ohio East Family History Center (Fairborn)
For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the FHC directory. Put your town name in the top search box.
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Greene County Public Library has a collection of online records that are free to the public. This collection includes:
- Cemeteries of Greene County, Ohio
- Greene County Birth Records 1869-1909
- Greene County Census Records, 1900, 1910 & 1920
- Greene County Death Record, 1869-1909
- Greene County, Ohio Historical Files
- Ohio Soldiers & Sailors Orphans Home Applications
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Online Genealogy Research Groups[edit | edit source]
- U.S. Midwest Genealogy Research Community - FamilySearch Facebook Research Group
- Ohio Ancestors - FamilySearch Community group, must have a free FamilySearch account to join
- U.S. and Canada Genealogy Research - FamilySearch Community group, must have a free FamilySearch account to join
Taxation[edit | edit source]
- 1800-1950 - Ohio Tax Records, 1800-1850 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1800-1850 Ohio Tax Records, 1800-1850 at MyHeritage ($) — index
Finding More Tax Records
Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Greene County, Ohio Genealogy Tax Records in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- FamilySearch Catalog (For instructions see FamilySearch Catalog Places Search).
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Marriages were usually recorded from the formation of the county and are held at the office of the County Probate Court. Divorce records are located with the county Clerk of Courts.
Any existing birth and death records from 1867 through December 19, 1908 are located at the County Probate Court. The Ohio Department of Health has birth records filed after December 20, 1908 and death records filed after January 1, 1954, while the Ohio History Connection houses death records from December 20, 1908 through December 31, 1953.
Birth[edit | edit source]
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- 1841-2003 - Ohio, County Births, 1841-2003 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1869-1909 - Greene County Birth Records, 1869-1909 Courtesy of Greene County Public Library
- before 1909 - Greene County birth index Courtesy OhioGenWeb
- 1908-1998 Ohio, Birth Index, 1908-1998 at Ancestry.com ($) — index
- various years - Community contributed birth records Courtesy OhioGenWeb Archives
Original Birth Records on Microfilm
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
- 1789-2013 - Ohio, County Marriages, 1789-2013 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1800-1958 - Ohio, Marriages, 1800-1958 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free; Index. Name index to marriage records from the state of Ohio. Microfilm copies of these records are available at the Family History Library and some FamilySearch Centers. Due to privacy laws, recent records may not be displayed. The year range represents most of the records. A few records may be earlier or later.
- 1800-1942 - Ohio, Marriages, 1800-1942 at FamilySearch — index
- 1803-1922 - marriage and divorce records Courtesy OhioGenWeb
- 1970-2003 Ohio, Marriages, 1970 - 2003 at MyHeritage ($) — index
- various years - Community contributed marriage records Courtesy OhioGenWeb Archives
Original Marriage Records on Microfilm
Death[edit | edit source]
Online Death Indexes and Records
- 1840-2001 - Ohio, County Death Records, 1840-2001 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1869-1909 - Greene County Death Records, 1869-1909 Courtesy of Greene County Public Library
- 1908-1853 - Ohio Deaths, 1908-1953 Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch. Records include such information as birth date of deceased, city, county, and state of death, name of spouse if married, names of parents, maiden name of mother, name of informant, if deceased was single, married, windowed or divorced, occupation of deceased.
- 1908-1932, 1938-2018 Ohio, Death Records, 1908-1932, 1938-2018 at Ancestry.com ($) — index and images
- 1913-1944, 1954-1963 Ohio Death Index, 1913-1944, 1954-1963 at MyHeritage ($) — index
- 1913-2000 - Geauga County death record databases Courtesy OhioGenWeb
- various years - Community contributed death records Courtesy OhioGenWeb Archives
- Vital Records prior to 1909 are located at the Greene County Records Center and Archives.
Original Death Records on Microfilm
Finding More Vital Records
Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Greene County, Ohio Genealogy Vital Records in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- FamilySearch Catalog (For instructions see FamilySearch Catalog Places Search).
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Websites[edit | edit source]
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Greene County, OH History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Greene County OH Genealogy
- Ohio Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Greene County, Ohio. Page 540-547 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 531-533.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
- ↑ http://genealogytrails.com/ohio/greene/ accessed 2/16/2017
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Greene County, Ohio," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Greene_County,_Ohio, accessed 11 December 2018.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Greene County, Ohio. Page 542 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
