To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Gretton, Northamptonshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Gretton, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Gretton, Northamptonshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Corby
County Northamptonshire
Poor Law Union Uppingham
Registration District Uppingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1557
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Weldon
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1851 - Court of the Peculiar of Gretton; Post-1850 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Northampton
Location of Archive
Northamptonshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

GRETTON (St. James), a parish, in the union of Uppingham, hundred of Corby, N. division of the county of Northampton, 2¾ miles (N. E.) from Rockingham. Here is a place of worship for Baptists.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Gretton, Northamptonshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC BTs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3]
AC PRs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3]

FREG = FreeREG - free[4]

FS = Familysearch.org

Gretton, Northamptonshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC BTs 1851-1878 1851-1878
AC PRs 1813-1912 1813-1912
FREG 1557-1926 1559-1944 1558-1930
FS 1730-1898

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Uppingham Poor Law Union, Rutland

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Index and extracts of all wills and admons of the Peculiar Court of Gretton and Duddington from Film #200,101 can be found [here.]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 03 December 2013.
  2. 2.0 2.1 'Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 7 April 2015.
  3. 3.0 3.1 'Northamptonshire, England, Burials, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 7 April 2015.
  4. 'Northamptonshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 29 November 2014.