Grimstad Parish, Aust-Agder, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Grimstad, Aust-Agder, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Grimstad Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/
Diocese
Agder og Telemark bispedømme (1925-today), Stavanger bispedømme (1684-1925), Oslo bispedømme (1070-1684)
Prosti Vest-Nedenes prosti
Len 1599-1660 Agdesiden
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1682: Agdesiden, 1682-1685: Christiansand, 1685-1919: Nedene
Fylke 1919-Present Aust-Agder
Region Sørlandet
Prestegjeld Grimstad
Kommune Grimstad
Skifteretten Grimstad skifterett
Tinglag Nedenæs
Fogderi Nedenæs Fogderi
Sorenskriveri Nedenes
Skipreide Bringsvær skipreide


Church Records[edit | edit source]

  • Microfilm at the Family History Library for Grimstad prestegjeld (clerical district). Contains priest and sexton records for Grimstad parish. Was separated from Fjære clerical district in 1885. Earlier records are in Fjære clerical district. Parish registers from 1867-1922.

  • Digitized parish registers available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

Census Records[edit | edit source]

See also Øyestad for 1801 Census.


  • 1865: The 1865 census for Grimstad clerical district is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. The 1865 census contains the residence, persons name, status in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, place of birth, age, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives) of Norway.


  • 1875: The 1875 census for Grimstad clerical district includes the parishes of Grimstad and Fjære is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. It contains the name of the farm, name of the person, residence, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).


  • 1885: A special 1885 census exists for Grimstad city. It is available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).


  • 1900: The 1900 census for Grimstad clerical district is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. The 1900 census for Grimstad city includes the name of the street and number, persons name, sex, resident or temporary resident, temporarily absent and where person is, position in the family, marital status, occupation, birth date, birth place, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives) of Bergen Norway; as well as in a searchable database online at the Norwegian Historical Data Centrethe University of Tromsø in Norway.


Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Aanby, Anne Tone: Fjære bygdebok

The Family History Library has Grimstadslægter. It is a genealogy of the people in Grimstad in Aust-Agder county.

Farm Book on the Internet[edit | edit source]

Grimstadslægter

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

This community tree is the result of merging the extracted data from the bygdebok (local or community history) for the Fjære clerical district. Fjæres in the Setesdal region and consists of 1 parish: Fjære. No additions or corrections are accepted for this community tree. If you see information that you believe is incorrect or incomplete, the information can be corrected or updated in Family Tree.

To view genealogies from Norway, Aust-Agder, Fjære Clerical District, 1600–1900, click here

Hovden, Rangdi (Rangdi Unn), 1938-: Mormors have 1878-1997: Lillemor- Svein og Milla-Kristine: Family history and biographical notes of Kjirstine Marie (Lillemor) Holst-Larsen (1912-1997), daughter of Ludvig Holst-Larsen (1874-1946) of Oslo and Rangdi Sveinson (1886-1975) of Larvik, Vestfold co., Norway. She was born in Nordstrand, Oslo. She married 1935 Anders Hovden (1905-1986) also of Nordstrand. Includes information on Birthe Emilie (Milla) Torjussen (1859-1930) born in Grimstad, Aust-Agder co., Norway. She married Svein Sveinson (1855-1943) born in Nes i Hallingdal, Buskerud county. She was a daughter of Torjus Torjussen and Kristine Thorkildsen (1826-1915). Kristine Thorkildsen was born in Vegusdal, Aust-Agder co., Norway, and she died in Tacoma, Washington where she had lived with her daughters.

FHL 929.2481 H742 To view a digital version click here

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Nedenes judicial district
*1640-1824 Family History Library
*1698-1826 Digitalarkivet

Grimstad city judicial district to 1824
*1821-1884 Family History Library
*1821-1912 Digitalarkivet

Nedenes deanery
*1693-1811 Family History Library
*1693-1811 Digitalarkivet