Guangdong, China Genealogy
Guide to Province of Guangdong 广东 family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Chinese Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
History[edit | edit source]
During the Mongol Yuan dynasty, large parts of current Guangdong belonged to Jiangxi. Its present name, Guangdong Province was given early during the Ming dynasty.
Since the 16th century, Guangdong has had extensive trade links with the rest of the world. European merchants coming northwards via the Straits of Malacca and the South China Sea, particularly the Portuguese and British, traded extensively through Guangzhou.
In 1952, a small section of Guangdong's coastline was given to Guangxi, giving it access to the sea. This was reversed in 1955, and then restored in 1965. Hainan Island was originally part of Guangdong, but it was separated as its own province in 1988. Guangdong (Wikipedia, 2004)
FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
- Learning Center - Online genealogy courses
- Historical Records
- Family History Center locator map
Links to Web Resources[edit | edit source]
- Guangdong Province, city Macau Genealogy Research
- Guangdang Provicne, city Macau: Vital Records
- Find A Grave
- Guandong Genealogy - We Relate
- Chinese Genealogy Guangdong Province
- Guangdong Province Genealogy
- Guangdong Province: Ancestral Village Research - Chinese Family History Group of Southern California