Guayama, Puerto Rico Genealogy
|Puerto Rico Wiki Topics|
|Puerto Rico Background|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Municipality of Guayama family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
History[edit | edit source]
Prior to Spanish colonization, the area now know as Guayama was inhabited by Taíno Native People. The town was founded after Spanish colonization on January 29, 1736 as San Antonio de Padua de Guayama. The Catholic Church in town, San Antonio de Padua, was declared a Parish in that same year. In 1855, Arroyo was separated to become an independent municipality. Construction of the town cemetery took place in 1844. Puerto Rico was ceded by Spain in the aftermath of the Spanish–American War (under the terms of the Treaty of Paris of 1898) and became a territory of the United States. In 1899, the United States conducted its first census of Puerto Rico. Population 45,400. 
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
More recent records are protected by privacy laws. However, close relatives can request them for genealogy.
Online Records[edit | edit source]
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registration, 1805-2001, index, incomplete
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registrations, 1885-2001, index, incomplete
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registration, Guayama, browse images
- Puerto Rico Births and Baptisms, 1938-1947 — index
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Search the 1910, 1920, 1930, and 1940 census records for information about your Puerto Rican ancestors who were there during that time period. Click here to go to the Puerto Rico Census Page
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Guayama, Puerto Rico," Wikipedia, The Free Encylopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Guayama,_Puerto_Rico, accessed 12/17/20.