To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Guston, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Guston, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Guston, Kent
Guston St Martin of Tours Kent.jpg
Guston St Martin of Tours Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bewsborough
County Kent
Poor Law Union Dover
Registration District Dover
Records begin
Parish registers: 1664
Bishop's Transcripts: 1570
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dover
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

GUSTON (St. Martin), a parish, in the union of Dover, hundred of Bewsborough, lathe of St. Augustine, E division of Kent, 2 miles N by E from Dover. There is a small place of worship for dissenters.[1]

Guston is a village and civil parish in the Dover district of Kent, see Guston Wikipedia.

Guston St Martin of Tours is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Canterbury and includes the campus of the Duke of York's Military school near Martin Mill.

The church stands on the site of a Saxon church and dates from the 12th century when it was chapel to the priory of St Martin in Dover (now incorporated into Dover College). The church of St Martin of Tours has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building.

See Edward Hasted, "The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent": Volume 9 (1800), pp. 405-409. at British History Online and Kent Churches website.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

See Dover Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House (Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Guston parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = findmypast - (£)[2][3][4][5]
Guston Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1606-1912 1606-1912 1698-1778; 1721-1924 (Banns) 1698-1778; 1721-1924 (Banns) 1669-1863 1669-1863

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Burials in the parish churchyard include children from the nearby Duke of York's Royal Military School (a boarding school). The children would have succumbed to childhood illness and disease. Eleven burials are lined up either side of a memorial cross inscribed: "In Loving Memory of Boys of the Duke of York's Royal Military School. Sons of the Brave, may all be gathered, Bravest of all, at last to thee! O Lord, with all thy faithful soldiers, Give us the Palm of Victory!" The last two sentences are taken from the school's hymn. The youngest "Dukie" interred at Guston Church was "Sergeant Monitor P V Barnett, who was 14 years and 6 months when he died on 11th July 1914".

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 360-362. Date accessed: 11 August 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  4. 'Canterbury banns coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  5. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.