Høvåg Parish, Aust-Agder, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Høvåg, Aust-Agder, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Høvåg Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/
Diocese
Agder og Telemark bispedømme (1925-today), Stavanger bispedømme (1684-1925), Oslo bispedømme (1070-1684)
Prosti Vest-Nedenes prosti
Len 1599-1660 Agdesiden
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1682: Agdesiden, 1682-1685: Christiansand, 1685-1919: Nedene
Fylke 1919-Present Aust-Agder
Region Sørlandet
Prestegjeld Høvaag
Kommune Lillesand
Skifteretten Nedenes skifterett
Tinglag Sand
Fogderi Nedenes
Sorenskriveri Sand
Skipreide Sand skipreide


Church Records[edit | edit source]

  • Digitized parish registers available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

Census Records[edit | edit source]

1664-1666, 1701, 1801 see Vestre Moland



  • 1875: The 1875 census for Høvåg clerical district is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. This 1875 census contains the residence, persons name, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Also available in a searchable database online Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).



  • 1900: The 1900 census for Høvåg clerical district is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. This census contains the resident or temporary resident, temporarily absent and where person is, persons name, sex, position in the family, marital status, occupation, date of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives) of Norway as well as at the Norwegian Historical Data Centre in Tromsø, Norway.


Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Halvorsen, Lars; Grønli, Helge: Fra Høvågs historie: Om Randvig gård. "Randvig gårds historie ble ført i pennen i 1946-47 av Lars Halvorsen. De to siste avsnittene er skrevet av Helge Grønli."

History of Randvig farm in Høvåg parish, Aust-Agder county, Norway. Contains some genealogical information of the residents.

FHL 949.1 A1

Sødal, Terje: Høvågs-og slektshistorie

FHL 949.28/H4 D2

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:

56 Aagerøen, 42 Aamland søndre, 12 Aardalen, 44 Aarsnes indre, 29 Aarsnes ytre,

35 Bagervigen, 48 Bliksund,

36 Dalene, 28 Djubedal,

18 Eidjord, 16 Ervigen,

55 Flesi, 40 Frillestad,

2 Gladstad, 34 Gløtningsvaag, 39 Grimsøen, 21 Grundebuen,

54 Haugevig, 38 Hellenes med Lindenes, 10 Hellevig, 11 Holte, 28 Hæstad, 49 Høvaag nedre,

44 Indgjerdsmyren, 15 Isefjær,

14 Kalland, 13 Kjøstveid, 1 Kornbrekke, 28 Krosnes, 19 Kvaase, 45 Kvannes, 4 Kvarsnes, 33 Kvivigen,

24 Melaaen,

37 Natvig, 31 Neset, 52 Nyglesten,

17 Opseng,

27 Randvig, 26 Randvigdalen, 30 Ribe, 51 Rossekjær, 23 Rosselien, 49 Rørvig,

22 Sagaasen, 6 Steindal nordre, 42 Steinsøen, 20 Sydingen, 41 Sævig,

47 Tronderøen indre, 7 Trøe

9 Uldalen, 32 Ulvøen,

8 Vallesvær vestre, 4 Vallesvær østre, 3 Vallesværdalen, 25 Vesterhus,

52 Øresland vestre og østre

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Nedenes judicial district
*1640-1824 Family History Library
*1698-1826 Digitalarkivet

Sand (Vestre Nedenes) judicial district to 1824
*1826-1879 Family History Library
*1826-1907 Digitalarkivet

Nedenes deanery
*1693-1811 Family History Library
*1693-1811 Digitalarkivet

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names