Halloughton, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Halloughton, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
Halloughton St+James Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||Southwell|
|Parish registers: 1621|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1622|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of Southwell|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
HALLOUGHTON (St. James), a parish, in the union of Southwell, Southwell division of the wapentake of Thurgarton, S. division of the county of Nottingham,1¾ mile (S. S. W.) from Southwell.
Halloughton St James is an Ancient parish in the Newark and Sherwood district of Nottinghamshire, and within Southwell civil parish.
The Parish Church of St James has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
See also Halloughton Wikipedia
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Halloughton, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|HALLOUGHTON PARISH Online Records|
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1621-1901 Marriages 1624-1992 Burials 1621-1909 Bishop's Transcripts 1622-1846
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Halloughton
Halloughton - St. James. A transcription of memorial inscriptions, dating from 1737, giving surname, given names, date of death, and age. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine vol. 21, pages 20-22 , FHL ref. 942.52 D25n
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites [edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 379-383. Date accessed: 21 January 2014.
- 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' findmypast, accessed 21 January 2015.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.