Hambledon, Hampshire Genealogy
Guide to Hambledon, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Droxford|
|Parish registers: 1596|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1704|
|Probate Court||Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of Hambledon with Denmead; Post-1844 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester|
|Location of Archive|
|Hampshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
HAMBLEDON (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Droxford, partly in the hundred of Meon-Stoke, but chiefly in that of Hambledon, Droxford and N. divisions of the county of Southampton, 5 miles (W. N. W.) from Horndean with the three tythings of Chidden, Glidden, Denmead, and Ervills.. The parish also partly included the chapelry of Newtown near Meon Stoke in the year 1850 (which also see under Newtown nera Meonstoke).
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Hambledon, Hampshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = findmypast - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch - free|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|HAMBLEDON PARISH Online Records|
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Genealogy from Periodicals
[edit | edit source]
Crook, Richard. The Crook Lineage 1639-1888. A detailed family tree of John Crook married 15 Jan 1639 at Droxford, to Jane Staires, with baptisms and burials in Boarhunt, Southwick and Hambledon. Tree dates from 1639-1974. Article to be found in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol. 31, part 1, page 66. FHL Ref 942.27 B2h
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 387-391. Date accessed: 13 June 2013.
- 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013.
- 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hampshire, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 8 October 2013.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 30 September 2013.