Hamilton County, Florida Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Hamilton County, Florida ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Jasper
Organized: December 26, 1827
Parent County(s): Jefferson[1]
Neighboring Counties
Columbia  • Echols (GA)  • Lowndes (GA)  • Madison  • Suwannee  •
See County Maps
Courthouse
FloridaHamiltonCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Fl-hamilton.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Flgenlogo100.png This page adopted by:
The FLGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named for Alexander Hamilton, first United States Secretary of the Treasury.[2] The County is located in the Northcentral area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Hamilton County Courthouse
207 NE 1st Street
Jasper, FL 32052
Phone: 904-792-1288
Hamilton County Website

County Judge has marriage and probate records.
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records from 1881 and land records from 1837. [4]

Hamilton County, Florida Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1899 1824 1899 1881 1837 1830 1830
*Statewide registration of births and deaths began in 1899. General compliance by 1920.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

1836 -- Courthouse may have been destroyed by a tornado prior to 1836.
1929 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
  • Adams
  • Bakers Mill
  • Bellville
  • Belmont
  • Blacks Still
  • Blue Springs
  • Camps Still
  • Crossroads
  • Cypress Creek
  • Facil
  • Genoa
  • Hillcoat
  • Kennedy Still
  • Long Branch
  • Marion
  • Octahatchee
  • Purvis Still
  • Rawls
  • Watson
  • West Lake


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Hamilton, Florida online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Florida Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Hamilton County cemeteries.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1830 553
1840 1,464 164.7%
1850 2,511 71.5%
1860 4,154 65.4%
1870 5,749 38.4%
1880 6,790 18.1%
1890 8,507 25.3%
1900 11,881 39.7%
1910 11,825 −0.5%
1920 9,873 −16.5%
1930 9,454 −4.2%
1940 9,778 3.4%
1950 8,981 −8.2%
1960 7,705 −14.2%
1970 7,787 1.1%
1980 8,761 12.5%
1990 10,930 24.8%
2000 13,327 21.9%
2010 14,799 11.0%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing census records online, see: Florida Census.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Florida denominations, view the Florida Church Records wiki page.
List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

  • 1880 Census African Born Blacks and Mulattos USGenWeb

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Florida Land and Property for additional information about early Florida land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for most counties. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Florida Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Lowndes CountyEchols CountyMadison CountySuwannee CountyColumbia CountyFL HAMILTON.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War

World War I

World War II

Korean War

Vietnam War

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Florida Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics, Florida State Archives, or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Hamilton County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Florida Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Hamilton County. For state-wide library facilities, see Florida Archives and Libraries.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Hamilton County Hist. Museum Society, Inc.
313 Hatley Street
PO Box 929
Jasper FL 32052
Phone: 386-792-1300
Facebook website

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Hamilton County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Florida Societies.
Florida Historical Society
435 Brevard Ave
Cocoa FL 32922
Phone: 321-690-1971
Website

Florida State Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 940927
Maitland FL 32794-0927
Phone: 407-494-3747
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Green check.png
The usage of "Mormon" and "LDS" on this page is approved according to current policy.


Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Florida.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Hamilton County, Florida Genealogy and History”, genealogy trails accessed 04/24/2017.
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Hamilton County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, wikipedia 04/24/2017.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Florida.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Florida.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Florida.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Hamilton County, Florida," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, wikipedia accessed 26 January 2019.