Hampreston, Dorset Genealogy
Guide to Hampreston, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
All Saints Church at Hampreston
|Poor Law Union||Wimborne and Cranborne|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Dorset|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
HAMPRESTON (All Saints), a parish, partly within the liberty of Westover, S division of the county of Southampton, but chiefly in the hundred of Cranborne, union of Wimborne and Cranborne, Wimborne division of the county of Dorset, 3½ miles ESE from Wimborne. There are a place of worship for Independents, and a Roman Catholic chapel. A convent has been established for 30 nuns under the superintendence of an abbess. This parish anciently formed part of that of Wimborne, from which it was separated about the year 1440. It is situated on the navigable River Stour, which is its southern boundary, and between the roads leading respectively from Southampton to Exeter and Poole.
The parish borders Hampshire, where a small part of the parish extended before the border change in 1974. The civil parish was renamed Ferndown in 1972. Hamlets within the parish include Stapehill and Longham.
HAMPRESTON, a parish in the district of Wimborne, and counties of Dorset and Hants; on the River Stour, near the Southampton and Dorchester railway, 3¼ miles ESE of Wimborne Minster. Pop., 1,115. There are two dissenting chapels.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Transcriptions from Hampreston OPC
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A. Hampreston (All Saints) A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 387-391.
- John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870; HAMPRESTON, A Vision of Britain through Time
- Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
- Dorset, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
- Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
- Dorset, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-2001, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
- 'Search Marriage Records in Dorset,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 24 June 2012.