Hamworthy, Dorset Genealogy
Guide to Hamworthy, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Poole|
|Parish registers: 1826; For more records see Sturminster Marshall|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1813|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of Sturminster Marshall|
|Location of Archive|
|Dorset Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
HAMWORTHY, a chapelry, in the parish of Sturminster-Marshall, borough and union of Poole, hundred of Cogdean, Wimborne division of Dorset,1½ mile W from Poole. It is divided into Higher and Lower Ham.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Hamworthy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Hamworthy Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images (coverage may vary)
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 396-401. Date accessed: 06 July 2103.
- Searching Parish Records online (Dorset) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.