Handsworth, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Handsworth, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||Strafforth and Tickhill|
|Poor Law Union||Sheffield|
|Parish registers: 1558; Separate registers exist for Gleadless beginning 1839|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1598; Separate records exist for Gleadless beginning 1839|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Chancellor of York with the Prebendal Jurisdiction of Laughton en le Morthen|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
HANDSWORTH (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Sheffield, S. division of the wapentake of Strafforth and Tickhill, W. riding of York, 4½ miles (E. by S.) from Sheffield. A chapel of ease was also built at Gleadless by the year 1839.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Online data content from chapelry registers of Handsworth exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|FMP= findmypast - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|HANDSWORTH PARISH (1708) Online Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1558.
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.