Handsworth St Mary, Staffordshire Genealogy
Guide to Handsworth St Mary, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Handsworth St Mary, Staffordshire|
|County||Staffordshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||West Bromwich|
|Registration District||West Bromwich|
|Parish registers: 1558; Separate registers exist for Perry Barr beginning 1833|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1660; Separate records exist for Perry Barr beginning 1834|
|Rural Deanery||West Bromwich|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield and Coventry (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Staffordshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Handsworth St Mary is an Ancient Parish in the county of Staffordshire. Other places in the parish include: Handsworth with Soho, Perry Barr, and Oscott.
(St. Mary the Virgin), a parish, in the union of West Bromwich, S. division of the hundred of Offlow and of the county of Stafford, 2½ miles (N. W.) from Birmingham. There is a place of worship for Independents in the Village. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Handsworth St Mary is an Ancient parish
Handsworth St Mary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS = FamilySearch - free|
|HANDSWORTH ST MARY PARISH (1558) Online Records|
||1558-1587, 1699-1751, 1774-1830
||1558-1587, 1699-1728, 1774-1837
Birmingham City Archives hold Bishop's transcripts Bap 1805-1865 Mar 1813-1837 Bur 1805-1889
The following parishes were formed from this parish
Handsworth St James formed in 1854 from part of Handsworth St Mary
Handsworth St James parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|HANDSWORTH ST JAMES PARISH Online Records|
Birmingham City Archives hold BT's Bap and Bur 1849-1856 no Mar records
Handsworth St Michael formed 1861 from part of Handsworth St Mary
Handsworth St Michael parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|HANDSWORTH ST MICHAEL PARISH Online Records|
Birmingham City Archives hold Bt's Bap 1861-1864 only
Handsworth St Andrew formed 1914 from parts of Handsworth St Mary & Handsworth St James EP Birmingham City Archives hold no records for this parish
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
- 1532/3 - A List of Families in Handsworth St Mary, Staffordshire Genealogy 1532/3 FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., [ http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=51003 A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848)], pp. 396-401. Date accessed: 29 October 2012.
- 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 July 2014.
- 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.
- Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8