To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Harrietsham, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Harrietsham

Guide to Harrietsham, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Harrietsham, Kent
Harrietsham St John the Baptist Kent.jpg
Harrietsham St John the Baptist Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Eyhorne
County Kent
Poor Law Union Hollingbourne
Registration District Hollingbourn
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1560
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sutton
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

HARRIETSHAM (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Hollingbourne, hundred of Eyhorne, lathe of Aylesford, W division of Kent, 7 miles E by S from Maidstone. [1]

Harrietsham is a village and civil parish in the Maidstone district of Kent, see Harrietsham Wikipedia A history of the village is available at Harrietsham village website.

Harrietsham is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Canterbury; a map of the parish is available at A Church near you.

The church of St John the Baptist has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building.

See Edward Hasted, The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 5 (1798), pp. 445-460 at British History Online and Kent Churches website.

Other places of worship in Harrietsham include:

St Peter Roman Catholic church

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

This parish was in the Hollingbourne registration district See Maidstone Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Harrietsham parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = findmypast - (£)[2][3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
MIDK = Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911 - free[6]
Harrietsham Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP
1538-1812; 1756-1827 (Banns)

FREG
1754-1911

IGI 1538-1659
MIDK 1754-1911

Land Tax[edit | edit source]

Images for Harrietsham available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments - FamilySearch Historical Records 1780-1832

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 416-421. Date accessed: 15 August 2013.
  2. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  3. 'Coverage of Kent parish banns', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  4. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 November 2013.
  6. 'Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911,' Woodchurch Ancestry Group, accessed 16 January 2014.