Harstad Parish, Troms, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Harstad, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Harstad Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/
Diocese
add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Nordlandene
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1789: Nordlandene, 1789-1866: Finmmarken, 1866-1919: Tromsø
Fylke 1919-Present Troms
Region add here
Prestegjeld Trondenes
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Trondenes
Fogderi Senja og Tromsø
Sorenskriveri Trondenes
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Harstad parish records are included in Trondenes clerical district parish registers. Records begin in 1744.

Parish heading list shows the Norwegain headings on the parish records with an English translations for each of the different forms used throughout the records beginning in 1814. Prior to that time the records were kept in a journal format which varies with each parish.

Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet.

Census Records:[edit | edit source]

Earlier censuses See Trondenes

  • Folketellingen for Norge den 1te desember 1910. The 1910 census for Harstad is available online at Digitalarkivet for Harstad


Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

1706-1877 Senja judicial district.

1776-1809 Troms County judicial district.

1697-1824 Troms and Senja deanery.

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

  • Folk og slekt i gamle Trondenes by Bergljot Holte Bjørkenes and Margareth Jensen. Lineage book covering the whole of old Trondenes Prestegjeld consisting of Harstad and Trondenes parishes. Text in Norwegian.
  • Trondenes bygdebok by Trygve Lysaker. A history of Trondenes with Harstad, Skånland, and Sandtorg in Trondenes clerical district in Troms county and a genealogy of the people and their farms. Text in Norwegian.

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Historical Society[edit | edit source]