To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Hastings St Michael, Sussex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Hastings St Michael, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hastings St Michael, Sussex
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hastings Borough
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Hastings
Registration District Hastings
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Lewes.-- mun. bor., market town, and co. town of Sussex, on river Ouse, 8 miles NE. of Brighton and 50 miles S. of London by rail - bor., 1087 ac., pop. 11,199; town, 119ac. The mun. bor. of Lewes was incorporated in 1881. Lewes returned 1 member to Parliament until 1885.[1]

Hastings St Michael is an extra-parochial place. Search surrounding parishes for records and information.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Hastings St Michael parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Sussex, Parish Registers, 1538-1910 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
OPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Sussex Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
TGEN = Sussex Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[2]
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Hastings St Michael Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1910
1538-1910
1538-1910
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
OPC 1538-1800s
1538-1800s
1538-1800s
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP



1530-1990
TGEN 1538-1920s
1538-1920s
1538-1920s
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the West Sussex Record Office and The Keep (which houses the collections of the East Sussex Record Office).

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Hastings Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/Hastings/

References[edit | edit source]

  1. John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles,1887. Date accessed: 27 September 2013
  2. Searching Parish Records online (Sussex) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk

FamilySearch